Odisha assembly pays rich tributes to Kalam

Bhubaneswar, Aug 18 (IANS) The Odisha assembly on Tuesday paid rich tributes to former president A.P.J. Abdul Kalam and former chief minister Janaki Ballabh Patnaik among others on the first day of the monsoon session.

The house adjourned till Wednesday after paying tributes to the departed souls.

As soon as the house assembled, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved the condolence motion. The house then observed a minute’s silence.

“Kalam was the pride and prestige of the country, a dedicated scientist and an able administrator. His contribution to the nation will always be remembered,” said assembly Speaker Niranjan Pujari.

The House also condoled the deaths of former ministers Sriballav Panigrahi, Ananda Acharya, Kalpataru Das, Karitka Mohapatra and former MLAs Parsuram Panigrahi, Sarat Paikray and Premalata Mohapatra.

The chief minister said the deaths of the ex-president, former chief minister and ex-members of the house were an irreparable loss to the nation.

Leader of the opposition, Narasingha Mishra, and BJP legislature party leader Basant Panda also condoled the demise of Kalam and other leaders.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here