Odisha MLAs to head district planning committees

Bhubaneswar, Jan 25 (IANS) The Odisha government on Monday appointed nine ruling party MLAs as the chairpersons of the district planning committees, enabling them to enjoy the status of minister of state (MoS).

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik approved the names of the MLAs to head the district planning committees.

“The chairpersons of the committees will be accorded the status of Minister of State (MoS),” said a statement from the chief minister’s office.

The decision has been taken a few days after the amendment to the Odisha Offices of Profit (removal of disqualification) Act, 1961.

The nine legislators are Balabhadra Majhi (who will chair Kalahandi committee), Susanta Singh (Bargarh), Nursingha Charan Sahu (Dhenkanal), Prasant Kumar Mudili (Jagatsinghpur), Ramesh Chandra Choupatnaik (Ganjam), Hrushikesh Naik (Keonjhar), Manohar Randhari (Nabarangpur), Sashi Bhusan Behera (Khurda) and Mahesh Sahu (Angul).

The state cabinet on January 16 had approved a proposal to amend the Odisha Offices of Profit (removal of disqualification) Act, 1961 paving the way for MLAs to head the committees.

At present, they are being headed by ministers only.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here