Odisha witnesses 73.76% voter turnout in 1st phase

Spread the love

Odisha witnesses 73.76% voter turnout in 1st phase

Bhubaneswar: The first-phase polling in Odisha, held in four parliamentary constituencies and 28 Assembly segments, witnessed a voter turnout of 73.76 per cent, said an election official on Friday.

The figure was announced by Chief Election Officer Surendra Kumar.

In the 2014 polls, the turnout in Odisha was 74.67 per cent.

Female voters outnumbered the male voters this time round. While male voting was recorded 73.09 per cent, the female voter turnout was 74.43 per cent.

The elections were in for Kalahandi, Koraput, Nabarangpur and Berhampur parliamentary constituencies and 28 Assembly seats, which fall under the Lok Sabha seats, said Kumar.

Nabarangpur registered highest voter turnout of 78.89 per cent followed by Kalahandi 75.82 per cent, Koraput 74.77 per cent and Berhampur 65.57 per cent.

In the Assembly constituencies, Kotpad registered the highest voting of 86.83 per cent and the lowest was recorded in Berhampur — 56.34 per cent.

The fate of 26 Lok Sabha aspirants and 191 Assembly candidates are now sealed in the electronic voting machines.

Kumar has also recommended re-polling in two booths — Malkangiri and Berhampur.

Voting was conducted till 9 p.m in some booths, he added.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here