Oman: Muscat Mogaveers Felicitate Indian Champions

Oman: Asian Bench Press Power Lifting Championship 2015 was held in Muscat, from 1 to 6 October 2015. In all 12 Asian countries with 189 competitors partook in this international tournament. The event was held in the Sultan Qaboos Stadium, Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex Bausher, Sultanate of Oman.

A 17 member team from India also participated in the tournament of which 7 members were from Mangaluru – Subrato Dutta, Hon General Secretary of Indian Power Lifting Federation (IPF) and Arjuna awardee; Sathish Kumar Kudroli, Ekalavya awardee; Nayana Shriyan, Ekalavya awardee; Vincent Carlo; Uday Kumar; Jayappa Lamani and Vivek Kamat from Mangaluru. Others who participated are N Subramanya from Bengaluru; Dipali Kulkarni from Mumbai; Vijaya Nair from Mumbai; Jayalaxmi from Manipur; Nidhi Sigh Patel from Lucknow; Suraj Kumar from Manipur; Bhaskar Shah from Delhi; Harcharan Singh from Punjab; Mustaq Ahmed from Kashmir and Sangram Satte from Pune represented the Indian team.

01-Asian-Powerlift-Championship 02-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-001 03-Asian-Powerlift-Championship 04-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-002 05-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-003 06-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-004 07-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-005 08-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-006 09-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-007

Muscat Mogaveers Koota (MMK) took the initiative to provide all possible support and comforts to the visiting Indian Team. At the time of Indian team’s arrival at Muscat International Airport, MMK members, lead by Sharath Kumar and Padmakar Mendon, gracefully received the Indian Team and each one of them were given a warm welcome.

Thereafter, many of MMKoota members marched to the Stadium to encourage the Indian team and extended whole hearted support for their success. Also, on one of the free days the whole team was taken out for site seeing in a bus generously arranged by Ravi Kanchan from MMKoota.

Muscat Royal Challangers Team Manager and MMK’s Executive Committee Member, Girish Kanchan organized a dinner party to felicitate the visiting Indian Team wherein all the team members were greeted and honoured with a memento. It was an heart touching moment for the Indian team and all the members expressed their thanks and gratitude for the love, affection and the respect shown to them by the Muscat Mogaveers.

10-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-008 11-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-009 12-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-010 13-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-011 14-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-012 15-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-013 16-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-014 17-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-015 18-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-016 19-Asian-Powerlift-Championship-017

MMKoota’s Vice-President Prakash Naik briefed about the MMKoota and RC to the Indian Team and also presented a memento to Satish Kumar Kudroli, in honour of his achievements. Sharath Kumar introduced the Indian Team to the members of MMKoota and Royal Challengers. Arathi Kanchan, General Secretary of MMK, felicitated and honored Nayana Shriyan. Both Satish Kumar Kudroli and Nayana Shriyan are the proud recipients of Ekalavya Award and belong to Mogaveera community. The President of MMK, Dr Shekar Salian also later on joined the party and gave his blessings and best wishes to the whole Team for their success in the future too.

Indian Team finished with 7 Gold, 6 Silver & 2 Bronze medals. Indian Women Team was declared as “Tournament Champions”. They made India proud with their achievements.


  1. Good to see Muscat Mogaveera Community love towards Indians. Keep up the spirit. wishing Mogaveera community spread peace, love & integrity

  2. MMKoota really4 supported indian team in such a way we have feel that we r in India.They r very friendly, so cooperative and honesty to India.we had very nice time at Muscat.we enjoyed trip. Thankful to mmkoota.

  3. Thank you for uploading this news. Hope our efforts will also inspire others to take initiative and extend a helping hand to our sports persons or cultural ambassadors whenever and wherever they visit any country representing India.

    Kudos to the Indian team for their achievements. Wishing further success and glory in future events.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here