Opposition RLSP wins assembly by-poll in Bihar

Patna, Feb 16 (IANS) The opposition Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) on Tuesday won Bihar’s Harlakhi legislative assembly by-election, officials here said.

Sudhansu Sekhar won the seat, defeating Congress candidate Mohammad Shabbir by over 18,000 votes. The Congress is part of the ruling Grand Alliance of Janata Dal-United and Rastriya Janata Dal.

The RLSP was backed by the BJP-led NDA comprising of the Lok JanShakti Party of union minister Ram Vilas Paswan and Hindustan Awami Morcha of former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi.

The result of Harlakhi assembly by-elections that went in favour of the BJP-led NDA is seen as a setback to the ruling Grand Alliance.

State JD-U president Vashsisht Narain Singh refused to comment on the poll defeat.

The election was necessitated by the death RLSP legislator Basant Kumar Kushwaha a few hours ahead of the oath taking ceremony of the newly elected legislators at the Bihar legislative assembly in November 2015.

The RLSP fielded Kushwaha’s son Sudhansu Sekhar in the by-poll.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here