Polling under way in Warangal Lok Sabha constituency

Hyderabad, Nov 21 (IANS) Polling was under way peacefully amid tight security on Saturday in the by-election to Warangal Lok Sabha constituency in Telangana.

About 10 percent voters cast their votes in the first three hours, poll officials said.

Polling began on a dull note at 7 a.m. but later picked up. More voters were seen in villages than in urban areas.

The polling in all 1,778 polling stations spread over seven assembly segments will continue till 5 p.m.

A total of 1,509,671 voters, half of them voters, are eligible to cast their votes. As many as 23 candidates are in the fray.

The Election commission has made elaborate arrangements to ensure free and fair polling. About 8,000 polling personnel including 738 micro observers have been deployed.

As many as 10,000 security personnel including central paramilitary forces have been deployed to ensure peaceful conduct of the polling.

State Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal said the polling process was being monitored through webcasting at 626 polling stations. At the other centres, officials have arranged videographers to record the proceedings.

Telangana assembly speaker Madhusudhana Chary, Deputy Chief Minister Kadiam Srihari, Congress MP R. Anana Bhaskar and TDP leader E. Dayakar Rao were among the prominent people who cast their votes in the constituency.

Kadiam Srihari’s resignation as the MP following his induction in the state cabinet led to the by-election.

Stakes are high for TRS, which has fielded P. Dayakar. The Congress has nominated former union minister Sarve Satyanarayana while P. Devaiah is the BJP candidate.

The Left parties have jointly fielded Vinod Kumar while Suryaprakash is the candidate of the YSR Congress Party.

Chief Minister and TRS president K. Chandrasekhar Rao campaigned for the party candidate in the by-poll which is being seen as a referendum on the state government’s performance. Central leaders of Congress party also participated in the campaign. YSR Congress chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy, who is leader of opposition in Andhra Pradesh, campaigned for his party candidate.

Counting of votes will be taken up on November 24.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here