President presents Infosys Prizes to six winners

New Delhi, Feb 13 (IANS) President Pranab Mukherjee on Saturday felicitated six winners of Infosys Science Foundation Prizes 2015 for their outstanding contribution in their fields.

The winners are Umesh Waghmare in engineering and computer science category, Jonardon Ganeri for humanities, Amit Sharma in life sciences, Mahan Maharaj in mathematical sciences, G. Ravindra Kumar in physical sciences and Srinath Raghavan in social sciences.

Mukherjee awarded each laureate with a purse of Rs.65 lakh, a 22-carat gold medallion and a citation certificate, the foundation said in a statement here.

The winners were chosen by six jury chairs – Pradeep Khosla for engineering and computer science, Nobel laureate Amartya Sen (humanities), Inder Verma (life sciences), Srinivasa S.R. Varadhan (mathematical sciences), Shrinivas Kulkarni (physical sciences) and Kaushik Basu (social sciences).

Waghmare, professor of theoretical sciences at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research in Bengaluru was awarded for use of principles of theories and modelling in investigations of microscopic mechanism responsible for specific properties of materials.

Ganeri, global network professor of philosophy in New York University, was hnonoured for scholarship and originality in interpreting and scrutinising analytical Indian philosophy.

Sharma, head, structural and computational biology group, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi, was recognised for pioneering contributions towards deciphering the molecular structure at the atomic level of key proteins involved in the biology of pathogenesis of the malarial parasite.

Maharaj, professor of mathematics at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) in Mumbai, won the award for his contributions to geometric group theory, low-dimensional topology and complex geometry.

Kumar, senior professor of department of nuclear and atomic physics at TIFR, was recognised for pioneering experimental contributions to physics of high intensity laser matter interactions.

Raghavan, senior fellow at Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, won the award for research that synthesizes military history, international politics and strategic analysis into imaginative perspectives on India in the global context.

Eminent scientists and industry leaders and foundation trustees, including S.D. Shibulal, trustees board president N.R. Narayana Murthy, Mohandas Pai, Kris Gopalakrishnan, Srinath Batni, K. Dinesh and R. Seshasayee were present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here