Rockstars humbled by the Warriors

Rockstars humbled by the Warriors

Hubbali: Mysuru Warriors recorded their second straight win in the fifth edition of the Karbonn KPL powered by Cycle Agarbathis cricket tournament as Rockstars crumbled under the weight of the season’s first 200-plus total. Inspired by Arjun Hoysala’s 61-ball 89, the Warriors thumped the Rockstars by a massive margin of 114 runs in front of a huge crowd at the KSCA stadium in Rajnagar on Sunday afternoon.


Winning the toss and deciding to bat first under clear skies and bright sunshine, Mysuru’s top order got off to a solid start. The pitch had dried up and the ball came on nicely as openers Rajoo Bhatkal and Arjun Hoysala found out as they forged a formidable partnership upfront; compiling an 80-ball 113, before Bhatkal (46), trying to up the ante, fell prey to Balachandra Naveen’s bowling.

The dismissal did not stop Hoysala from putting the bad balls away, as Rockstars were left to rue the missed opportunity early in the innings, when the batsman had edged SL Akshay high towards first slip but the chance was grassed.

Hoysala’s 61-ball 89, studded with seven fours, and two sixes allied with pulsating cameos from K Gowtham (33 off 14 balls) and Aniruddha Joshi (27 off 9 balls), spurred the Warriors past the first 200 run mark in this year’s KPL. Riding on the wings of some breathtaking stroke play, the Warriors finished with a mammoth 219 for four at the end of 20 overs.

In reply, Rockstars began the chase on a promising note, with opener Rajeev H (51; 23b, 3×6, 7×4) getting to his fifty in double quick time. It was eventually Rajoo Bhatkal who ended his cameo, by bowling him with a change of pace. Rajeev’s dismissal triggered a collapse, as the Rockstars slipped from 63-3 to 100-7.

Rockstars’ captain Kichcha Sudeep arrived at the crease to a rousing welcome but he could only watch helplessly from one end, as his team folded for a paltry 106.

J. Suchith was the pick of the bowlers taking 3 for 27 from his full quota of overs. Arjun Hoysala was adjudged the Man of the Match for his brilliant innings of 89.

All matches of the Karbonn KPL 2016 will be telecast live and exclusive on Sony ESPN SD and Sony ESPN HD Channels.

The tickets will be available at the Rajnagar Stadium in Hubbali and online on Book My Show at

About Karnataka State Cricket Association: The Karnataka State Cricket Association (formerly Mysore State Cricket Association) is committed to developing Karnataka as the premier cricketing state in the country. It aims to take the game to mofussil areas of the state for development at the grassroots level and to continuously promote the welfare of players. It was founded during the year 1933-34 and is affiliated to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The association made steady progress from 1934 to 1959 when the Silver Jubilee was celebrated to coincide with the visit of the Australian team to Bangalore to play against the Combined Universities XI.

In the late sixties, the Association acquired its own cricket ground and the stadium now known as the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium came into being. Bangalore became a Test Centre, and several memorable Tests and ODIs, including the 1996 World Cup quarter-finals, have taken place here. The Karnataka State Cricket Association has grown from strength to strength and today is one of the best-organized State Cricket associations in the Country.

Team list
Match 4 – Mysuru Warriors vs Rock Stars – Rock Stars won the toss and opted to field

Mysuru Warriors

1.K Gowtham
2.Rongsen Jonathan
3.Kushal Wadhwani
4.Arjun Hoysala
5.Nihal Ullal
6..Vyshak V
8.Aniruddha Joshi
9.Rajoo Bhatkal
10.Adithya B Sagar
11.R Prateeksh

Rock Stars

1.Rajeev H
2.Balachandra Naveen
3.P Bogadi
4.Santhebennur Akshay
6.Sharath BR
7.Raju Gowda
8.Neravanda Aiyappa
9.Ritesh Bhatkal
10.Charan Teja

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here