Sabarinathan sworn-in as Kerala legislator

Thiruvananthapuram, July 1 (IANS) Congress leader K.A. Sabarinathan was sworn-in as a legislator of the Kerala legislative assembly on Wednesday.

In the results for the Aruvikara by-election announced Tuesday, Sabarinathan, 31, secured 56,448 votes to defeat former speaker and minister M. Vijayakumar, 67, of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), who secured 46,320 votes. O. Rajagopal, 85, of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) garnered 34,145 votes.

With Sabarinathan’s victory, the Oommen Chandy-led government’s tally touched 74 in a house of 140 elected members. The Left opposition has 66 and the lone nominated member supports the treasury benches.

There was an emotional moment in the house when he walked up the steps to meet speaker N. Sakthan. The speaker’s chair was previously held by Sabarinathan’s father G. Karthikeyan, who passed away in March.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here