Sahyadrians all set to race in Buddh International Circuit

Sahyadrians all set to race in Buddh International Circuit

Mangaluru: Students of Sahyadri College of Engineering & Management are all set to race in the Buddh International Circuit under the ‘SUPRA 2016’ competition organised by SAE on July 4th in Noida. Students have built a 390 CC race car, which is the first car of its kind being built by students in Mangalore city limits. This is a proud moment for Sahyadrians who witnessed the home built race car accelerating and roaring around the campus.


SUPRA 2016 is the competition organised by the Society of Automotive Engineering (SAE) India for the undergraduates to build and race student-built car. SUPRA is widely known as the student version of Formula One Race. The objective of the competition is for students to design and fabricate a 600cc (max) concept race car worthy of mass-production by a hypothetical manufacturing firm. The teams are evaluated first on the car’s dynamic performance in several gruelling tests. They must also present a business strategy with cost analysis and marketing plans to “sell” the concept to a judging panel of hypothetical manufacturers.

The team captain Jerin David Varghese says that “It’s an exciting moment for the team members who are to be Mangalore city’s first team to participate in this kind of competition. We have dedicated eleven months designing, building and testing the car. The dream of 23 members has become reality while the car accelerated on the race track.”

The team comprises students across various disciplines and batches of Sahyadri. Says Jerin, “Mechanical, electrical and electronics engineering students worked together as a team for over two years to achieve an optimal design of the car and successfully completed this project.”

The members are Dharama Raj, Karthik J Nanda, Swasthik Bhandary, Tharanath, AtifIbad Khan, Larry Denzil Mendonca, Sandesh Kotekar, Dikshith Ganiga, Darshak P Uchil, Akshay Bhandary, Vinyas Rai, Nikhil Kumar D, Nameez Sayed, Ashish Kottary, Kieth Denver Pais Everest, Sagar Purushotham, Prajna C Madane, Upendra K, Arpitha Shekar Shetty, Prathishta Tejpal Puthran, Afridi, Vidya Shetty, Praveen K and Neeriksha Rai. The team is grateful to Dr Manjunath Bhandary, Chairman, Devadas Hedge, Trustee and all the sponsors and well-wishers who came forward to make this dream come true.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here