Samarth carves out champions Bijapur Bulls’ 1st win

Samarth carves out champions Bijapur Bulls’ 1st win

Hubbali: R Samarth’s brilliant 54-ball unbeaten 87 propelled champions Bijapur Bulls to their first win in the fifth edition of the Karbonn KPL powered by Cycle Agarbathies T20 cricket tournament, at the KSCA stadium in Rajnagar on Monday afternoon.

Bulls’ most experienced pair, the talented Samarth and the hard-hitting Robin Uthappa made light of a stiff target set by Hubli Tigers and registered a commendable seven-wicket win with two balls to spare in front of an excellent crowd that wildly cheered their heroes.


One has to sympathise with Hubli Tigers. On a fresh pitch that was ideal for batting they were put in to bat and they appreciated the gesture by running up an excellent total of 188 for 7 in the allotted 20 overs.

But Bijapur Bulls who lost their opening match to Belagavi Panthers were in no mood to let this match also slip from their grasp. They pounded their opponents with an impressive first wicket partnership of 48 runs in five overs through R Samarth and MG Naveen (20; 16b, 1×6, 2×4) to set the stage for a successful chase.


The fall of Naveen brought skipper Uthappa to the batting crease and the Karnataka pair kept the score-board ticking over with an assortment of singles, twos and punishing boundaries.

Samarth (87 n.o, 54b, 3×6, 7×4) and Uthappa (51, 33b,1×6, 6×4) added 112 runs in 66 balls to totally subdue Hubli Tigers.

“It was an ideal T20 pitch. The ball was coming on to the bat nicely and permitted free strokeplay,” said man of the match Samarth.

Earlier, openers Taha (89; 56b, 7×6, 5×4) and Abhishek Reddy (42; 33b, 2×6, 3×4) got the Hubli team off to a flying start in the power play overs. Taha, in particular, was in punishing form and hammered the bowlers at will. The pair blasted the Bulls bowling attack to all parts of the ground and often out of it.


Amid all the clean-striking, Abhishek Reddy (42, 2×6, 3×4) played an able second fiddle to Taha, before becoming Sinan’s first wicket of the match.

Some valuable contributions from Chethan William (18) and skipper Kunal Kapoor (14) lifted the Tuskers to a competitive 188 for 7 in 20. But, as we saw later in the match, Samarth and Uthappa went one better on the Hubli duo of Taha and Reddy to guide their team to the impressive victory.

Brief Scores:

Hubli Tigers: 188/7 in 20 overs (Md. Taha 89, Abhishek Reddy 42; Stallin Hoover 2/32 ) lost to Bijapur Bulls: 191/3 in 19.4 overs (Samarth 87 n.o, Uthappa 51, Abhimanyu Mithun 2/48, Sinan 2/28, Naveen MG 2/23) by seven wickets.

Karbonn KPL 2016: Rockstars vs Mangalore United – Team Lists

Match Officials:

SK Tarapore
S Viswanath

3rd Umpire:



V. Vikram Raju

Team List
Match 7- Mangalore United vs Rock Stars- Rock Stars won the toss and opted to field


Sudeep (C)
Raju Gowda
Vihaan Rajeev
Akshay SL
Naveen B
Rakshith S
Sharath BR (WK)
Ritesh Bhatkal
Charan Teja
Madhan Mohan
Mahesh V
Daivik Vishwanath

Mangalore United

CM Gautam (C)
Shishir Bhavane
Ronit More
BN Bhareth
Nidhish M
Harsha Basvaraj
Mitrakanth Yadav
Kishore Kamath
Ankit Kumar
Shashi Shekhar
Nihant Singh Shekhawat

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here