Stage set for JK Karting series

Hyderabad, June 19 (IANS) The 12th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Karting Championship kick starts here this weekend at the brand new Chicane circuit with over 45 aspirants in the fray.

Spread over five rounds, the 2015 season will be hosted across karting tracks in Hyderabad, Coimbatore and Bengaluru. This year, the championship has seen the maximum participation from Maharashtra. There are nine young racers from Mumbai, three from Kolhapur and four from Pune with two teams — Rayo Racing from Mumbai and Mohite’s Racing from Kolhapur — participating.

The championship in its 12th successive year is the only national karting championship in the country. It has been nurtured by talented racers like Armaan Ebrahim, Jehan Daruvala, Arjun Maini, Kush Maini and Shahan Ali Mohsin who have been racing in various international series.

The brand new Chicane circuit is Hyderabad’s latest karting track which is 1.2 km in length with 12 corners. The karts this year will run on the new Evo Max engines which will elevate the kart’s performance, which will in turn upgrade the driver’s performance.

Over 45 aspirants from across the country will be participating in the championship which will be held from June to October. Leading professional karting teams namely Rayo Racing (Mumbai), Meco Racing (Chennai), Mohites Racing (Kolhapur), BPC Racing (Bengaluru) and Dark Don Racing (Chennai) will be lining up their drivers on the grid.

In addition to the five teams, there will be two new teams entering the championship this year, namely Erda Racing from Baroda and Team India Karting from Bengaluru.

The drivers representing the seven teams will be divided into three categories on the basis of their age – Micro Max (7-12 years), Junior Max (13-15) and Senior Max (15 and above). The driver line-up this year has the likes of defending champions like Vishnu Prasad from Chennai, Ameya Bafna from Mumbai, Chittesh Mandody and Dhruv Mohite from Kolhapur in the Senior category.

Akash Gowda, Aaroh Ravindra from Mumbai, Nirmal Shankar from Chennai, Manav Sharma from Faridabad and Mira Erda from Baroda, who is one of the two girls taking part in this championship, are some of the karters to watch for in the Junior Max category.

In the Micro Max category, the drivers to look out for are Shahan Mohsin from Agra, Chirag Ghorpade and Ruhan Alwa from Bengaluru.

The overall champions in the Junior and Senior Max categories will represent India in the World Karting Finals 2015 which is scheduled in Portugal in November. The overall champions, the first and second runners-up in the Junior Max and Senior Max categories get a fully sponsored drive in the JK Racing India Series in the JK Tyre Racing Championship 2016.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here