State Bags 6 Gold Medals in National Special Olympics

State Bags 6 Gold Medals in National Special Olympics

Karnataka Special Athletes Bagged 6 Gold Medals in National Special Olympics Swimming Championships.

Mangaluru: Addressing the media persons during a press meet held at Mangalore Press Club, Vasanth Kumar Shetty – Director, Area Director-Special Olympics Bharath-Karnataka said, ” In the National Championships held in Andheri, Mumbai from the 19th -24th September by Special Olympics Bharat, the Karnataka Special Athletes won six Gold, 1 Silver and 3 Bronze medals in various categories in Swimming. Prakash Director Physical Educator from MAHE University and Ms.Yashodamma, State Training In charge SOB-K had accompanied the contingent from Karnataka “.


He further said, ” State level Championships were held in JSW Complex, Bellary on 27th and 28th Aug 2016. From which 10 Athletes were selected to go for the national level competitions for swimming. On 17th Sept 2017 State level Championships were held in Mangala Stadium, Mangaluru for Athletics, from which 12 Male and 10 Female Athletes have been selected to go for National level championships in Jaipur, Rajasthan.

There it will be a selection of Probable’s for the upcoming World Summer Games to be held in 2019. Coaches who will accompany the Athletic contingent are- Anand ( Head Coach)from Bangalore, Narayan, District Sports Director from St.Agnes Special School, Mrs.Meera Satish, Principal of Lions Special School and Ms.Harshitha from Saanidhya. 22 Special Athletes from SOB-Karnataka will be taking part in the Athletic National Championship to be held in Jaipur- Rajasthan from 21-27 October 2016.”


Radhakrishna, Jagadish Shetty , Sr Maria Shruthi AC and Mahesh Kumar -Board Members of SOB-Karnataka were present during the press meet.

Six Gold medal winners are : Dinal Jain (Bengaluru)-50 M Back Stroke; Jayanth (B’lore)-50 m Butterfly; Archana (Udupi)- 50m Freestyle; Shashank (B’lore) 50m Freestyle and 100m Freestyle; Mukesk K (Mysore)-25m Freestyle

One Silver medal Winner is – Milan B Singh (Davangere) -25m Freestyle

Three Bronze Medal Winners are : Milan B Singh (Davangere)- 50m Freestyle; Shamitha U N (B’lore)- 100m Freestyle; and Dinal Jain (B’lore)- 50m Freestyle

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here