Minister Umashree Inaugurates Stree Shakti

Minister Umashree Inaugurates Stree Shakti Samavesh, Announces compensation up to Rs 20 lakh for acid attack victims

Mangaluru: The district administration in association with the Women and Child Development department, State Women Development Board, Stree Shakti Okkuta and Shree Shakti Block Societies of DK district organized the “Shree Shakti Samavesh”, at the Town Hall here, on May 28.

Shri-Shakti-28052016 (21)

Shri-Shakti-28052016 (31)



The Minister for Women and Child Welfare Umashree inaugurated the programme by lighting the traditional lamp along with other dignitaries. Umashree also symbolically launched the solar lighting system for Anganwadi Schools in the district.

Addressing the gathering, Umashree said that the women in the DK district have created history by registering 56,900 members. “They are the role models to other districts. Today, they have formed a district level co-operative society under the Priyadarshini project. Earlier, women were depending for loans from the bank but now they have their own financial institutions and they are confident to get loans. There are 3,938 Stree Shakti groups in the district.” Umashree urged minister Mahadev Prasad to extend the Priyadarshini scheme to other districts so that the members of Stree Shakti can start their own financial institution.

image003shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-003 image004shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-004 image005shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-005 image006shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-006 image007shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-007 image008shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-008

Umashree further said that the state government has announced a compensation of up to Rs 20 lakh for acid attack victims. Those who sustain more than 50 per cent burns will get treatment charges for plastic surgery. The victims will also get Rs 3,000 as pension per month. Interest free loan amount for the Shree Shakti group has been increased from Rs 2 lakh to Rs 3 lakh. Spinsters above the age of 45 will also get monthly pension. A special policy will be implemented for transgenders and a monthly pension of Rs 500 will be paid. Samruddi and Dhanashree schemes will be implemented soon. Under the Dhanashree Scheme, HIV infected women will be given a loan of Rs 50,000.

District minister in-charge Ramanath Rai launched the society and handed over the certificate of registration to the president of DK and Belthangady Taluk Shree Shakti Sangagala Okkuta, Laalimani.

image009shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-009 image010shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-010 image011shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-011 image012shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-012 image013shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-013 image014shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-014 image015shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-015 image016shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-016 image017shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-017

Addressing the gathering, Ramanath Rai said that the Congress government lead by Siddaramaiah has brought many schemes to empower women. After Shree Shakti came into existence, more and more women are taking part in the programmes. The state government is implementing many schemes to empower women.

Rai also stressed on Anganwadi and said that Anganwadi centres provide basic health care for children. “It is a part of the Indian public health care system. The government is providing nutritious food and education for the all-round development of children.”

image018shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-018 image019shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-019 image020shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-020

image021shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-021 image022shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-022 image023shri-shakthi-samavesha-020160528-023

Minister for Co-operative and Sugar Mahadev Prasad inaugurated five Shree Shakti co-operative societies on the occasion and handed over the certificates to the presidents of the respective societies.

Shri-Shakti-28052016 (30) Shri-Shakti-28052016 (32)Shri-Shakti-28052016 (183) Shri-Shakti-28052016 (40)

Various schemes for women, transgenders and the weaker sections were distributed on the occasion. MLA J R Lobo delivered the presidential address. Minister Abhaychandra Jain, MP Nalin Kumar Kateel, MLA Shakuntala Shetty, MLA Moideen Bava, DC A B Ibrahim, Dr K N Vijay Prakash, Minakshi Shanthigodu, MLC Ivan D’Souza, Divya Prabha Gowda, Kripa Amar Alva and others were also present.

Click here for Photo Album

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here