Thakur guides IOC hockey team to victory

Chennai, July 26 (IANS) After what could be described only as a neck-and-neck contest, defending champions Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) emerged victorious in the final of the 89th All India MCC Murugappa Gold Cup hockey tournament, defeating Army XI 3-2 in the final here on Sunday.

Hamza Mujtaba (15th), skipper Deepak Thakur (48th) and Didar Singh (55th) scored for IOC while Army’s response came from Pawal Lakra (4th) and Chandan Aind (65th).

The match seemed to be a fight between equals right up to the half-time after which the competition got hotter by the minute.

The final few minutes saw frantic attempts by both teams to firm up their positions in the match. With the aplomb shown in the earlier matches too, former Indian star Thakur led IOC from the front, finally guiding them to victory.

As the winning team, IOC took home the prize money of Rs.5 lakh, and runners-up team Army XI received Rs.2.50 lakh.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here