Three BJD candidates elected to Rajya Sabha

Three BJD candidates elected to Rajya Sabha

Bhubaneswar, June 3 (IANS) Senior Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leaders Prasanna Acharya, Bishnu Das and N. Bhaskar Rao were elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha on Friday.

Returning officer A.K. Sarangi said the three BJD candidates were elected uncontested as nomination papers of three Independent candidates were rejected on June 1 as they did not have the required proposers for their candidature.

Election was to be held for three Rajya Sabha seats on June 11.

The opposition Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) did not file any candidate as they do not have the required numbers to elect their nominees.

The Rajya Sabha election was necessitated as three MPs — Pyarimohan Mohapatra, Baishnab Parida, and Bhupinder Singh — completed their tenure on July 1.

According to the affidavits filed by the candidates, all the three BJD candidates are crorepatis.

While N. Bhaskar Rao topped the list with possessing around Rs 36 crore of movable and immovable assets, Acharya has Rs 4.47 crore immovable properties and Rs 80.91 lakh movable assets in his name.

Bishnu Das has immovable assets of Rs 1.29 crore and movable assets of Rs 13.73 lakh in his name. Both Das and Acharya were ministers in the Naveen Patnaik government.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here