Trinamool tsunami in West Bengal

Kolkata, May 19 (IANS) The ruling Trinamool Congress appeared set to retain power with a two-third majority in West Bengal on Thursday, as its candidates led in 208 of the 294 constituencies.

The Left-Congress nominees were ahead in 74 constituencies.

Candidates of the BJP and its allies were leading in 10 places. The Gorkha Janmukti Morcha, one of the BJP’s allies, was ahead in Darjeeling, Kalimpong and Kurseong.

The Trinamool wave appeared to be crushing all the opposition in the southern parts of the state while the Left-Congress challenge was most visible in northern Bengal.

Among the prominent Trinamool leaders on the road to victory was Finance Minister Amit Mitra from Khardaha.

Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) state secretary Surjya Kanta Mishra led from his constituency Narayangarh while Congress’ Manas Bhunia was ahead in Sabang.

Among celebrity candidates, Trinamool’s Laxmi Ratan Shukla (Howrah North) and Baishali Dalmiya (Bally) were in the lead.

Around 82.80 percent of the 6.55 crore electorate voted in the elections held from April 4 to May 5 to elect a 294-member assembly.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here