TRS leading in Telangana’s Palair assembly by-election

Hyderabad, May 19 (IANS) Ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in Telangana is set to wrest the Palair assembly seat from main opposition Congress party as its candidate and state Minister T. Nageswara Rao established a clear lead.

Nageswara Rao, who is minister for roads and buildings, was leading by over 25,000 votes as counting was in progress in the constituency in Khammam district.

In the by-election held on Monday, 89.73 percent of over 1.90 lakh voters had cast their votes.

The by-election was necessitated due to the death of sitting legislator Ramreddy Venkat Reddy of Congress party, which fielded his widow Sucharitha Reddy.

Though a total of 13 candidates were in the fray, it was basically a three-cornered contest among TRS, Congress and the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M).

In the 2014 elections, Venkat Reddy had won the seat by a majority of more than 21,000 votes over his nearest rival M. Swarna Kumari of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP). TRS had finished a poor fourth with just 4,041 votes.

This time the TDP stayed away from the contest and supported the Congress candidate.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here