UAE: Karnataka Sangha lifts Prestigious KCO Throwball Tournament Trophy

UAE: Konkani Cultural Organization (KCO) Abu Dhabi,successfully conducted its 5th edition of throwball tournament on January 29, at the Abu Dhabi Indian school grounds. It was a day filled with exciting matches enjoyed by the players and a large audience alike.


In an exciting round of ladies final sets played between the KCO team and Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha, the women’s team of Karnataka Sangha lifted the prestigious KCO winner’s trophy and KCO Ladies team lifted the runners-up trophy.

01-20160130-kco-throwball 02-20160130-kco-throwball-001 03-20160130-kco-throwball-002 04-20160130-kco-throwball-003 05-20160130-kco-throwball-004

In an equally exciting men’s finals, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha team lifted the winner’s trophy and Dubai Bunts team settled for the runners-up trophy.

These teams managed to reach the finals after a grueling set of matches played through the morning with other teams from the UAE namely, Bunts Dubai, Coastal friends UAE, Mangalore Konkans, Mogaveeras and Konkans Dubai.
The event was flagged off in the morning with an inaugural ceremony in the Abu Dhabi Indian school auditorium. Sandya Vas, the KCO sports secretary welcomed the gathering.

08-20160130-kco-throwball-007 09-20160130-kco-throwball-008 10-20160130-kco-throwball-009 11-20160130-kco-throwball-010

Sudhir Kumar Shetty (President, UAE Exchange) Sarvotham Shetty (President, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha), Walter Almeida and Thelma Almeida, Carol Rodrigues (Al Mazroui and Clevy Automobiles LLC), Michael D’Silva, Bennett D’Mello, members of KCO, Dolphy Vas, Gerald Dmello and Valerian Dalmeida including Sandhya Vas (Sports Secretary) and Franklin D’Cunha (KCO Throw Ball Team Manager),

President of KCO Abu Dhabi Leo Rodrigues addressing the gathering stressed the importance of playing with true sportsman spirit and inspired the teams with a message on maintaining friendliness on the field. Sudhir Kumar Shetty (President, UAE Exchange) spoke on the occasion and imparted inspiring words of encouragement to the teams.

12-20160130-kco-throwball-011 13-20160130-kco-throwball-012

Doreen Alvares administered the oath to the players. This was followed by the national anthem of UAE and India. The programme was inaugurated by releasing the ballons in the air.

The matches were played on league basis and all the teams put up a good fight. The referees for the day were Shiva Shetty, Naveen Salian, Deepthi S, Latha Shetty, Vivek Serrao and Melvin D’souza.

Another interesting feature of the tournament was that all the team players were randomly mixed up into teams and all players got a rare opportunity to play in mixed teams. This was a good opportunity to make new friends with other team members. Each team was given a different coloured T shirt. All players from the playing teams were put in 8 teams which were named Black Panthers, Purple Jaguars, White Falcons, Red Dragons, Orange Cheetahs, Green Vipers, Blue Tigers and Grey Wolves. In the men’s section Purple Jaguars won against Black Panthers in the finals whereas White Falcons women’s team won against Green Vipers in the finals. It was well appreciated by the players.

14-20160130-kco-throwball-013 15-20160130-kco-throwball-014

The winners in the mixed ladies tournament were the White Falcons and runners up were Green Vipers.

In the men’s mixed tournament, the winners were Purple Jaguars and Runners-up were Black Panthers.

It was an enjoyable day filled with fun and excitement. In a glittering prize distribution ceremony trophies were given to the winners, runner up teams and best individual performers.

Best all-rounder – Mabel Rebello,KCO
Best defender – Sheela Sudhir Shetty, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha
Best striker -Vijaya Tantry, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha

Best all-rounder -GuruprasadBhandary, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha
Best defender – Dany Dsouza, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha
Best striker -Suraj Shetty, Bunts Dubai
Match referees and Media representatives were honored with mementos for their service.

Canute Kelarai, General Secretary KCO delivered the vote of thanks. Vivek Serrao compered the programme.

Click here for Photo Album

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here