Udupi: District All Set to Count ZP and TP Votes

Udupi: All the arrangements have been made for the counting of votes of Zilla and Taluk Panchayat polls at three different venues in three Taluks on  February 23.

Speaking to Mangalorean.com Election officer of Udupi Zilla Panchayat, Yogishwar informed that the counting will begin at 8 am simultaneously in all the three taluk centres.

There are about 176 counting tables arranged in the district. “We aim for an early finish of the work and the outcome can be expected by 1 pm,” he added.


In fact, sleepless nights and tension for the candidates, party leaders, followers and even the common man will come to an end by Tuesday noon.

The fate of 77 Zilla Panchayat candidates for 26 ZP seats and 233 candidates for 98 Taluk Panchayat seats in Udupi district will be decided.

Out of the 77 candidates, 26 each are from Congress and BJP, while six are from the JD(S), four each from BSP and CPI(M) and 11 are Independent candidates. There are 26 Zilla Panchayat seats (Kundapur 10, Udupi 11 and Karkala 5) in the district.


As many as 233 candidates are in fray for the Taluk Panchayat elections in the district. There are 98 Taluk Panchayat constituencies in the district – of which 37 are in Kundapur, 41 in Udupi and 20 in Karkala. Out of the 233 nominations, 98  from the Congress Party and the BJP, 10 from the JD(S), 12 from the CPI(M), one from the SDPI and 14 are independent candidates.

The counting will be held at Udupi’s Saint Cecily’s High School, Ajjarkad; Kundapur Bandarkar’s Arts and Science College and Sri Manjunatha Memorial First Grade College in Karkala.


Speaking to mangalorean.com, Additional DC Udupi district, Chennabasappa said that the district administration had made elaborate arrangements for the counting process. The result is expected to be out by 11 am or 12 pm. Election contestants and counting agents are barred from carrying any kind of electronic gadgets inside the counting centres. Only three counting agents, each for Zilla Panchayat contestants and one for Taluk Panchayat contestants would be allowed inside the centre.

A special identification card has been issued to the counting agents, which they have to produce the card to gain entry into the centre. Mobile telephones, calculators, match box, lighters, all kinds of weapons and sharp objects and fountain pens are not allowed inside the counting centre.


The district administration has enforced prohibitory orders under Section 144 in the district till midnight of February 23 to avoid any untoward incidents in the district. Public gatherings, rallies and processions of any kind are also prohibited. Liquor shop owners have been directed to keep their shops closed till midnight of February 23. The results will be announced in all the counting centres through mikes after every round of counting. Only valid pass holders will be allowed to enter inside the counting centre.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here