Udupi: Historically important Kaup Hosamarigudi to be Renovated – Vinay Kumar Sorake

Udupi: The temple of historical importance Kaup Hosamarigudi will be renovated at a cost of Rs 25 crore said Vinay Kumar Sorake, Minister for Urban Development and Minister in-charge district. He was addressing a press meet at the Hosamarigudi temple here on June 19.

The renovation work will be held in three phases. The construction of the temple costing Rs 10 crore will be constructed in the first phase. The administrative office, dining room, museum, toilets, rest rooms of the priests and parking arrangement will be constructed in the second phase costing Rs 10 crore. The auditorium with seating capacity of 1200 people and the shopping complex will be constructed in the third phase. The temple structures will be built according to the design of temples built during the Vijaynagar, Chola and Chalukya empires.

kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-07-06 kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-13-43 kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-15-43 kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-17-20 kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-17-41 kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-17-52 kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-27-56 kaupmarigudisorake press meet 19-06-2015 14-27-57

The temple came into existence during 1743, King Basappanayaka had built a fort in Mallaru for his soldiers to rest. The soldiers had brought along with them their goddess, fondly called as Dandina Mari which was worshipped by them during the war. The Dandina Mari is today worshipped as Kaup Mariyamma. The three maripujas are held in Kaup Marigudi and the Suggi Maripuja is very famous among them. The present temple was built around 1830, he added.

K Vasudev Shetty, President of Temple committee said that the foundation stone for the renovation of the temple will be laid on June 24. The Palimar Math Swamiji Shree Vidyadeesha Theertha will bless the occasion. Vinay Kumar Sorake will lay the foundation stone. Shobha Karandlaje, MP Udupi-Chikkamangluru LS constituency will be the chief guest.

Former MLA Lalaji R Mendon, Manohar Shettty, Deviprasad Shetty, Ramesh Hegde, Anil Ballal, Srinivas Tantri, Prashanth Kumar Shetty, Divakar Shetty, Gangadhar Suvarna, Rathnakar Shetty, Kumar Hegde and others were present.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here