Udupi Journo’s keep Pen Aside, Participate in Annual Sports Meet

Udupi Journo’s keep Pen Aside, Participate in Annual Sports Meet

Udupi: It was a day when journalists of Udupi district kept aside their pens, notebooks, cameras and laptops and decided to engage themselves strictly in some sports and games activities. The sports talents of Journalists was a surprise to many spectators – the spirit visible was of participation while winning was secondary.

The Udupi District Working Journalists’ Union (UDWJU) in association with the Udupi Press Club organized its fourth annual sports meet for the scribes so that they could unleash their hidden sports talents at the Mahatma Gandhi District stadium Ajjarkad here on Tuesday, February 26.

Jayakar Shetty Indrali general manager of Badagabettu Credit CO-operative society along with Yashpal Suvarna president DK Udupi district fish federation, Khadar Shah District information officer jointly inaugurated the sports meet by releasing the Tri-coloured Balloons in the air and declaring the sports meet open.

In his message, Jayakar Shetty Indrali said, “Journalists work round the clock keeping aside recreational activities. Sports activities help us to refresh our mind and this sports day is a platform to participate in such activities”.

Yashpal Suvarna in his message said, “Those in the media who work 24X7 to give facts and news to the public are seen here taking part in this sports meet to refresh their mind and body. Let such programmes be held every year so that all journalists have some good time and refresh their mind and body”.

District Information officer Khader Shah also appreciated and wished the Journalists well.

Raghupathi Bhat MLA Udupi who joined after the inaugural function congratulated the Journalists Association. Later Raghupathi Bhat symbolically gave the start for the 400-meter race and Shotput.

Udupi district Working Journalist’s Association President Ganesh Prasad Pandelu, Secretary Santhosh Saralebettu, Treasurer Divakar Hiriyadka, State committee member Kiran Manjanabailu, Sports Secretary Harish Palechar and Press Club convener Nagaraj Rao were also present.