Udupi Mourns the Death of Martyrs in Pulwama Terror Attack

Udupi Mourns the Death of Martyrs in Pulwama Terror Attack

Udupi: The vehicle-bomb suicide attack on a CRPF convoy near Awantipora on Thursday, February 14 is the deadliest ever terror strike against security forces in three decades of militancy in Kashmir. The loss of so many security personnel while on duty is mourned across the Udupi District on Friday, February 15.

Demonstrations and candlelight meets were held at various places across the district protesting against the killings.

The members of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Udupi district Unit held a condolence meet at the war memorial at Ajjarkad in the evening.

Raising anti-Pakistan, anti-terrorist slogans, protesters demanded action against Pakistan for “sponsoring terrorism in the Valley.” They appealed to the central government to allow the security forces to retaliate with a free hand.

Udupi District BJP president Mattar Ratnakar Hegde, Udupi MLA Raghupathi Bhat, BJP leaders Yashpal Suvarna, Shreesha Nayak, Shyamla Kundar, Akshith Shetty Herga, Vijay Bhat, Nalini Pradeep Rao and a large number of party workers participated in the meet and paid tribute to the martyrs.

The various organizations under the leadership of Udupi district working Journalist’s Association along with Suvarna TV, TV 9 and Kannada Prabha newspaper organized mass candlelight meets at the War Memorial, Ajjarkad.

Udupi District additional SP who is also an ex-solider participated in the meet and expressed his tearful feelings about the martyrs. He shared his experience with the public.

Raghupathi Bhat (MLA Udupi), Amrith Shenoy (AICC member), Harish Kini (Udupi district Congress Secretary), Alwyn Quadros (Catholic Sabha Udupi Pradesh president) Dion D’Souza (president ICYM Udupi Diocese), Janet Barboza (President Udupi Diocese Catholic Stree Sanghatan), Steevan Culaco (Secretary IFKCA Udupi District), Tallur Shivaram Shetty (Governor Lions Club District 317), Santhosh Saraelbettu (Secretary Udupi District working Journalist’s Association), Yogish Shetty (President Udupi District JDS), Yashpal Suvarna (President Udupi DK district Fish federation), Vilas Nayak (former VHP president Udupi District) Rosario D’Souza (retired SI), Vasudeva Bhat (Samskar Bharathi) Janardhan Bhandarkar (Secretary Udupi District Congress) and others were present.