Udupi: District register 99.37 pc polling in Legislative Council Elections

Udupi (Update): The Udupi district recorded 99.37 percentage of polling during the Legislative Council elections in the Dakshina Kannada local authority constituency held here on Sunday. The poling was peaceful without any untoward incidents reported anywhere in the district.

Kundapur taluk reported 99.70 per cent polling while Udupi recorded 98.96 per cent and Karkala Taluk recorded 99.62 percentage of polling respectively. Out of 2712 voters 2695 voters casted their votes.

Udupi (Update): There was good response to Legislative Council elections in the Dakshin.a Kannada local authority constituency in Udupi district with 92.26 percent voting till 12 pm.

In Kundapur Taluk – 93.42 per cent, Karkala – 84.79 percent and Udupi 94.71 percent of voting was recorded till 12 pm in the district

Udupi: Voting Begins for Legislative Council Elections in District

Udupi: Polling for the Legislative Council elections in the Dakshina Kannada local authority constituency in the district began here, on Sunday, December 27.

The total number of voters in the constituency is 6559, of which 3,191 are males and 3,368 are females. The constituency has 410 polling booths. The number of voters in Dakshina Kannada district is 3,844 and in Udupi district is 2,715. There are 166 polling booths in Udupi district and 244 polling booths in Dakshina Kannada district.


MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-48-31 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-49-02 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-49-03 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-49-13 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-49-18 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-51-03 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-51-38 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-51-48 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-52-29 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-52-47 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-52-51 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-53-43 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-53-52 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 06-55-12 MLCPolls_Udupi 27-12-2015 09-08-06

Rajya Sabha member Oscar Fernandes, District Minister in-charge Vinay Kumar Sorake, Udupi MLA Pramod Madhwaraj, CMC president Yuvraj cast their votes at City Municipal Council Udupi booth.

Speaking to mediapersons, Oscar Fernandes said that the Congress party would win a majority of seats in the elections to the state Legislative Council from the local bodies segment. Expressing confidence in the upcoming elections, he said, “The Congress-led State government has been successful in implementing various schemes for the development of local bodies. The members of local bodies are well aware about the better governance in the state and will surely support the party. Pratap Chandra Shetty is an active politician. He participates actively in all issues discussed in the legislative assembly and he will surely win the election with highest margin.”

Eight candidates are contesting for the Legislative Council elections in the Dakshina Kannada local authority constituency. They are S Prakash Shetty (JD(S)), K Prathapchandra Shetty (Congress), Praveenchandra Jain (JD(S)), Kota Srinivas Poojary (BJP), Alphonse Franco (Independent), Ismail Doddamane (Independent), K Jayaprakash Hegde (Independent) and K Harikrishna Bantwal (Independent).

The counting of votes will take place on December 30 in Mangaluru.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here