Vote count begins in Bihar

Patna, Nov 8 (IANS) Counting of the millions of votes polled in the five-phase assembly elections in Bihar began on Sunday morning, officials said.

The staggered election to the 243-seat assembly started on October 12 and concluded on November 5.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) contested 160 seats and its allies the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) 40, the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) 23 and the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) 20 seats.

In the Grand Alliance, the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) fielded 101 candidates each, while the Congress contested 41 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday said it was confident of winning the Bihar assembly elections.

“I am sure victory will be ours,” BJP spokesman Sambit Patra said on TimesNow channel. But “I keep my fingers crossed”.

Patra quoted BJP president Amit Shah as saying that the battle for the 243-member Bihar assembly was very important for the party.


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here