Watson, Lyon ignored as Australia name ODI squad against India

Sydney, Jan 4 (IANS) Veteran all-rounder Shane Watson and off-spinner Nathan Lyon were ignored as Australia on Monday announced their 13-member squad for the first three matches of the One-Day International (ODI) series against India starting in Perth on January 12.

Australian selectors named Glenn Maxwell as the only spinner in the squad citing the pitches in Perth, Melbourne and Sydney would assist quick bowlers. Uncappped fast bowlers Scott Boland and Joel Paris are in line for their international debuts after being named in the squad.

Test batsmen Usman Khawaja and Joe Burns were also not included in the ODI squad that will assemble in Perth on Friday, with Australia’s Twenty20 skipper Aaron Finch, former T20 captain George Bailey and recently-dropped Test batsman Shaun Marsh all named in the top order.

Watson announced his Test retirement during the One-Day series against England after last year’s failed Ashes series campaign to focus on limited-overs cricket, but a poor showing in the Big Bash League (BBL) for the Sydney Thunder was a good enough reason for selectors to leave the 34-year-old out of the squad.

Lyon earlier made it clear he wants to play limited-overs cricket for his country, but selectors, for the time being, have found no room for him despite his success at Test and domestic T20 level recently.

Skipper Steven Smith will lead the side alongside vice-captain David Warner.

National selector Rod Marsh said the two young quicks (Boland and Paris) deserved their chance at international cricket.

“Scott has continued to impress the selection panel having bowled very well for Victoria this year. He certainly deserves this chance at the top level,” Marsh said.

“Joel is an exciting young left-arm bowler who swings the ball well and has bowled beautifully in the Big Bash League for the Perth Scorchers. He has had very good figures in short-form cricket and we really want him to make the most of this opportunity,” he said.

South Australian paceman Kane Richardson returns to the side having last played for Australia against the visiting South Africans in Canberra in 2014.

“Kane has had a taste of cricket at the international level and although that has been interrupted on occasions through injury we think he is ready to perform consistently for Australia.”

Australia ODI Squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Joel Paris, Matthew Wade.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here