Wickremesinghe retains MP’s position for record 38 years

Colombo, Aug 20 (IANS) Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has set a record by retaining his member of parliament (MP) position for 38 years without a break since first entering the house in 1977.

He has also been the prime minister on four occasions, after serving as deputy minister, cabinet minister, leader of house and opposition leader, the SriLanka Mirror reported.

The United National Party’s Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, too, first entered parliament in 1977 and continued until 1988 when he resigned to contest the northwestern provincial council polls.

Former president Mahinda Rajapaksa was first elected to parliament in 1970, but lost in the 1977 election.

He returned to parliament at the 1983 election and continued till 2005, when he became the president.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here