Home Fit & Fun England beat India to lift Women’s World Cup

England beat India to lift Women’s World Cup

Spread the love

England beat India to lift Women’s World Cup

London, July 23 (IANS) It was a case of ‘so near and yet so far’ for India as they suffered a spectacular middle and lower order batting collapse to lose by nine runs to England in a nail-biting final of the ICC Women’s World Cup here on Sunday.

Electing to bat first, England produced a competitive total of 228 for seven in their 50 overs.

The Indian eves rode on half-centuries from opener Punam Raut and Harmanpreet Kaur to almost overhauling the target.

Punam scored 86 runs off 115 balls while Harmanpreet scored 51 off 80.

Punam and Harmanpreet added 95 runs between them in 128 balls and helped to steady the Indian innings following the loss of two early wickets.

However, the Indian eves seemed to los their wits towards the end, losing seven wickets for just 28 runs to be all out for 219 runs in 48.4 overs.

Pacer Anya Shrubsole was the most successful among the England bowlers with figures of 6/46 in 9.4 overs.

India vs England WWC final scoreboard

London, July 23 (IANS) Following is the scoreboard of the ICC Women’s World Cup final between England and India at Lord’s here on Sunday:


Lauren Winfield b Gayakwad 24
Tammy Beaumont c Goswami b Poonam Yadav 23
Sarah Taylor c Sushma Verma b Goswami 45
Heather Knight lbw b Poonam Yadav 1
Natalie Sciver lbw b Goswami 51
Fran Wilson lbw b Goswami 0
Katherine Brunt run out (Deepti Sharma) 34
Jenny Gunn not out 25
Laura Marsh not out 14

Extras 11 (w 7, nb 1, lb 3)

Total 228/7 (50 Overs)

Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Winfield, 11.1 overs), 2-60 (TT Beaumont, 14.3), 3-63 (HC Knight, 16.1), 4-146 (Taylor, 32.4), 5-146 (Wilson, 32.5), 6-164 (Sciver, 37.1), 7-196 (Brunt, 45.6).


Jhulan Goswami 10-3-23-3
Shikha Pandey 7-0-53-0
Rajeshwari Gayakwad 10-1-49-1
Deepti Sharma 9-0-39-0
Poonam Yadav 10-0-36-2
Harmanpreet Kaur 4-0-25-0


Punam Raut lbw b Anya Shrubsole 86
Smriti Mandhana b A Shrubsole 0
Mithali Raj run out (Natalie Sciver/S Taylor) 17
Harmanpreet Kaur c Tammy Beaumont b Alex Hartley 51
Veda Krishnamurthy c Natalie Sciver b Shrubsole 35
Sushma Verma b Alex Hartley 0
Deepti Sharma c Sciver b Shrubsole 14
Jhulan Goswami b Shrubsole 0
Shikha Pandey run out (Shrubsole/Taylor) 4
Poonam Yadav not out 1
Rajeshwari Gayakwad b Shrubsole 0

Extras 11 (b 0, lb 3, w 7, nb 1, p 0)

Total 219 (10 wkts, 48.4 Ov)

Fall of Wickets: 5-1 (Smriti Mandhana, 1.4 overs), 43-2 (Mithali Raj, 12.1), 138-3 (Harmanpreet Kaur, 33.3), 191-4 (Punam Raut, 42.5), 196-5 (Sushma Verma, 43.3), 200-6 (Veda Krishnamurthy, 44.4), 201-7 (Jhulan Goswami, 44.6), 218-8 (Shikha Pandey, 47.3), 218-9 (Deepti Sharma, 48.1), 219-10 (Rajeshwari Gayakwad, 48.4)


Katherine Brunt 6-0-2-2
Anya Shrubsole 9.4-0-4
Natalie Sciver 5-1-2-6
Jenny Gunn 7-2-17-0
Laura Marsh 10-1-40
Alex Hartley 10-0-58-2
Heather Knight 1-0-7-0

Spread the love

Exit mobile version