Home Mangalorean News Local News Hap..Hap..Happy 50th Birthday to ‘St Christopher’s Association’

Hap..Hap..Happy 50th Birthday to ‘St Christopher’s Association’

Spread the love

Hap..Hap..Happy 50th Birthday to ‘St Christopher’s Association’

Mangaluru: Addressing the media persons during a press meet held at Mangalore Press Club, Sushil Noronha- the Honorary President/Convenor of St Christopher’s Association said, “ St.Christopher’s Association was established in March 1967 at Bishop’s house. Late Bishop Rev Basil .S. D’souza was the Patron of this Association, Fr. Fred Pereira was founder spiritual director. Alphonse Fernandes was the founder lay person of this association, which was also called as “Driving Licence Holder Association”. The association which started with just 132 members, now has reached up to nearly 1700 enrolled members, of which 800 members are very active members. Maco Society and Petrol Pump were started in 1975 by our association. Now these are working independently.”

He further said, ” In 1981 a hostel was built for the students and working class men from rural areas. Presently there are 55 working men staying in this hostel. Every year we provide note books for members children and we also provide loan for higher education without interest. We also have death benefit fund for our members. Every year we celebrate Easter and Christmas in orphanages and we contribute useful items. This year we had organized a eye camp in Vamanjoor, where 200 people benefited by this camp, who received free spectacles and free eye check-up. We had donated wheel chairs to the Government Wenlock hospital, and our Bantwal-Mondankap members have built a house for a needy person, which will be inaugurated on 13th August.”

“We have planned to build a house for a needy person here from our Central committee and also a bus shelter as part our Golden jubilee memorial celebration . Since our hostel is 35 years old, there are plans to renovate it . On 13 August a family get-together of association members is also planned. Our Association had -Albert D’souza as founder president, while Joseph Mascarenhas, Blasius D’souza (ex-minister), Sushil Noronha, Victor Menezes , Raymond D’cunha as apst presidents, and at present Herold D’souza. Former Secretaries were- J.Alphonse Fernandes(Founder secretary) who had served for 33 years, Sushil Noronha, Ronald Saldanha, Cyril Pinto, Victor Menezes, Harold D’souza, Denis D’souza; and at present Nigil Pereira. Former Spiritual Directors were- Fr.Fred V. Pereira, Fr. John D’souza, Bishop Aloysius .P.D’souza, Fr. Mathew Vas, Fr.Stanley Tauro, Fr. Cyprian Coelho, Fr. Stany Goveas; and at present, Fr.J.B.Crasta of Rosario Cathedral” added Noronha.

Noronha further said, “The Association will celebrate its golden jubilee on August 6, 2017 at Don Bosco Hall-Mangaluru at 5.30 pm, where Mangaluru City Corporation Mayor Kavitha Sanil will inaugurate the golden jubilee celebration, presided over by Most Rev Dr Aloysius Paul D’souza-the Bishop of Mangaluru  diocese; and Charles Lobo- the Chief Post Master General Karnataka Circle Bengaluru as chief guest; while MLC/Chief Whip of Legislative Council Ivan D’souza; and MLA J R Lobo, will be the guests of honor. During the programme ex-spiritual directors ,Presidents and founder 21 members will be honoured. The formal function will culminate with a musical entertainment-Maxim Nite. On the same day in the morning at 8 am, a mass will be held at Rosario Cathedral, with the Bishop of Mangaluru as the Main Celebrant, followed by blessing of the vehicles”.

Fr J B Crasta, Spiritual Director/Parish Priest of Rosario Cathedral, Nigel Pereira, Harold D’Souza and J Alfonso Fernandes, all board members of the Association were present during the press meet.
Present Office Bearers of St Christopher’s Association:

Patron: Bishop Rt. Rev.Aloysius Paul D’souza

Spiritual Director/Treasurer: Rev. J.B. Crasta

Honorary President: Sushil Noronha

President: Harold D’souza

Vice President: Francis D’souza.

Founder Secretary: Alphonse Fernandes.

Secretary: Nigil Pereira

Joint Secretary: Mrs.Leena D’souza.

Spread the love

Exit mobile version