Hassan: Sakleshpur JMFC Court Stays Work on Yettinahole Project

Hassan: Agriculturists H K Chandrashekhar, Kadagarahalli Subhash, Moganna Gowda, Sunil Kiran Pinto, H M Devaraju, Ballu Gopal, Dalit leader Jai Bhim Manjunath and environmentalist Arun had jointly filed a plaint in the civil junior grade and JMFC court in Sakleshpur regarding the ill-effects of the Yettinahole project.

They had complained that social impact study, environmental impact study and public grievance meet had not been conducted prior to implementing the project. They also said that the rules under the land acquisition laws of 2013 had not been followed nor was the requirement of approval from a minimum of 70% affected individual adhered to.

Advocates R N Krishnamurty and Kishore argued for the plaintiffs. Video clippings showing damage done to the environment and agricultural crops while executing project work were also screened in the court.

Magistrate H K Shilpa ordered a stay on the work with immediate effect.