Karnataka Cabinet expansion: Cong accommodates 6 Lingayat, 4 Vokkaligas, Shettar, Savadi miss out  

Spread the love

Karnataka Cabinet expansion: Cong accommodates 6 Lingayat, 4 Vokkaligas, Shettar, Savadi miss out   

Bengaluru: The Congress government in Karnataka completed the process of cabinet expansion, finalising the names for 24 cabinet berths on Friday.

However, former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar and Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi, who jumped ship to join the Congress from the BJP and helped to tilt Lingayat vote bank, have missed out on ministerial berths.

The list has been sent to the Raj Bhavan and the swearing-in ceremony is slated on Saturday morning.

As per an official release from the CM’s office, senior Congress leader from Gadag district H.K. Patil from Namdhari Reddy community, Krishna Byre Gowda representing Hebbal seat in Bengaluru, N. Cheluvarayaswamy from Mandya district, K. Venkatesh from Mysuru district and Dr M.C. Sudhakar from Chikkaballapura district, all hailing from Vokkaliga community have been accommodated.

Senior Congress leader Eshwar Khandre from Bidar, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur from Yadgir, Shivanand Patil from Vijayapura, S.S. Mallikarjun from Davanagere, and Laxmi Hebbalkar from Belagavi, all from Lingayat community, have been named as ministers.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s right-hand man Dr H.C. Mahadevappa from the Mysuru district, R. B. Thimmapur from the Bagalkot district, and Shivaraj Tangadagi from the Koppal district, all from Scheduled Caste community, will also be inducted as ministers.

K.N. Rajanna from Tumakuru district and a staunch follower of Siddaramaiah and B. Nagendra from Bellary district, both hailing from Scheduled Tribe are also included.

6-time MLA and former state chief Dinesh Gundu Rao representing Gandhinagar seat in Bengaluru has been given a cabinet berth too. He belongs to the Brahmin community.

Mankal Vaidya, belonging to the Mogaveera community, from Uttara Kannada district has been preferred over veteran Congress leader R.V. Deshpande from the region.

Rahim Khan, a senior Congressman from Bidar representing the Muslim community is part of the cabinet. D. Sudhakar, representing the Jain community from Chitradurga, has been given a cabinet post over three-time MLA Raghu Murthy belonging to the ST community.

Santhosh Lad from Dharwad, belonging to the Maratha community, N.S. Bosaraju from Raichur, belonging to the Raju BC community, and Bhyrathi Suresh, a close confidante of Siddaramaiah from the Kuruba community, will also be ministers.

The party has accommodated Madhu Bangarappa from Shivamogga in the view of making the roots of the party strong on the home turf of former CM B.S. Yediyurappa. Bangarappa belongs to the Ediga OBC community.

Going by the list, CM Siddaramaiah had gained the upper hand over his deputy D.K. Shivakumar. Six Lingayats, four Vokkaligas, five OBCs, three SCs, and two STs, one each from Brahmin, Muslim, Jain and Reddy communities have got the cabinet berths in the second list.

All sub-castes of the Lingayat community have been taken into consideration and given eight cabinet berths. Vokkaligas have got five representations including the Deputy CM’s post. Dalits got nine cabinet berths and left and right sub-groups have been given equal representation.

Three from the ST community have been allotted cabinet posts. Smaller communities like Raju Kshatriya (Boseraju), and fishermen (Mankala Vaidya) have been represented.

Only one berth has been given to the Kuruba community (Suresh) as CM Siddaramaiah hails from the community. The Muslim community is represented by two ministers (B.Z. Zameer Ahmad Khan, and Rahim Khan) while U.T. Khader has been made the Speaker – the first Muslim to become the Speaker of the State Assembly. One berth has been given to Christians (K.J. George) and Jain communities (D. Sudhakar).

Siddaramaiah and Congress have tried to balance region-wise and community base with an equal and judicious distribution of power. North Karnataka, including Kittur and Kalyan Karnataka regions, the central region of the state and the Mysuru regions have also been given proper representation.

Besides Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar, eight more ministers — G. Parmeshwara, K.H. Muniyappa, K.J. George, M.B. Patil, Satish Jarkiholi, Priyank Kharge, Ramalimga Reddy, and Ahmed Khan — had taken oath last Saturday in Bengaluru. However, none of them has been allocated any portfolio yet.

Spread the love

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here