Namma Nadu ಕನ್ನಡ Nadu! 63rd Rajyotsava Celebrated with Gaiety, Zeal & Fervor

Namma Nadu ಕನ್ನಡ Nadu! 63rd Rajyotsava Celebrated with Gaiety, Zeal & Fervor

Mangaluru: Since the Rajyotsava celebration cuts across all religions and communities of the state, people from all walks of life come together to celebrate the day with great Gaiety, Zeal and Fervor. The 63rd Karnataka Rajyotsava celebrations were held in Mangaluru at Nehru Maidan on Thursday, November 1. The day which marks the formation of the state of Karnataka in 1956, by bringing together the Kannada speaking contagious land, is celebrated with great pomp and cheer. The state flag is also hoisted at offices of political parties and various localities. The DK District Administration hands out the Rajyostava Awards to people from various fields in recognition of their contribution to the state.

At the time of the formation, the state had been called Mysore, which was reminiscent of an old princely regime. However, respecting the popular mood the state was consequently renamed as Karnataka on November 1, 1973. The Rajyotsava day is known for its vibrancy, as the red and yellow flags of Karnataka are displayed at various places across the whole state, while people dress in their best attire to come together and celebrate. Celebrations start with the presentation of the honours list for Rajyotsava Awards, hoisting of the official Karnataka flag and a speech by the District-minster-in -charge/. People in every corner of the state celebrate the day with their own ceremonies and practices.

Prior to the the celebration at Nehru maidan, colourful procession was taken out from Jyothi Circle to Nehru Maidan, the venue of the celebration. After the rendering of the State Anthem, DK District in-charge Minister U T Khader unfurled the national flag and received the guard of honour followed by a parade.

Delivering the Rajyotsava Address, Minister U T Khader spoke on the various welfare schemes of the state government and called upon all people of the land to love and respect Kannada language, literature and culture. He also stated that the state government was committed to the protection of the interests of Kannada language. He also gave a long list of funding sponsored by the government to various DK and Mangaluru development projects. Praising and giving more importance to Kannada, the Minister said “You should know that Kannada is the only language which has bagged eight Jnana Peetha awards., and for that great achievements we should commend all great people who brought these awards and also name and fame to our Kannada State and Kannada soil.

“Kannada is a beautiful language, and we should make sure we speak the language all the time, and also encourage our children to speak too. Kannada language should not be spoken just today, instead spoken 365 days, no question asked” he added. Speaking more he specified on the projects of the state government like irrigation, road, housing which are underway in district, and also briefed about various government schemes favoring on students and poor. He mentioned about the financial aid sanctioned by state government for the development fishermen community, tourism and flood effected Sullia and surrounding areas.

As many as 15 achievers and few organisations were conferred the Kannada Rajyotsava Awards on the occasion. Individuals who received the awards were- Bondala Sachidananda Shetty – Education; Laxman Kunder – Journalism; Kumar Pernaje – Agriculture, Shekar Bhandary – Literature, P M Hasanabba Moodbidri – Music, Dinaker Indaje – Journalism,, Vidwan Shravan Ullal – Dance, Nagesh A – Sports, Master Mohammed Shamil Arshad – Sports, John Chandran (Teacher at St Aloysius High School-Mangaluru) – Fine arts; Dr Dinesh Kadam – Medicine; Sadashiva Ameen – Fine arts, Chandrashekar Nanil – Social work, Dr A Shashikanth Jain – Social work (Yoga), Shanker B Shetty Virar – Social work, Kurnadu Shivanna Acharya – Janapada, Gopala Shibaruru – Janapada, and Dr Manorama Rao – Medicine

In the Organizations category, awards were given to : Thekkil Grameenabhivridhi Prathistana, Arantod, Sullia – Social work, Billava Seva Samaja Kankanady, Garodi – Social work, Mata Amrithanandamayi Seva Samithi Sultan Bathery – Social work, Kadri Nrithya Vidyanilaya Charitable Trust, Kadri – Social work, Tannir Bavi Mulugu Tajnyara Tanda – Social work, Mangaluru Yantrika Meenugaarara Prathamika Sahakari Sangha – Social work, Mother Theresa Home for the Dying and Destitute, Falnir – Social work.

Dakshina Kannada Deputy Commissioner D Sasikanth Senthil, MLC Ivan D’Souza, MCC Mayor Bhasker K , Police Commissioner T R Suresh, District Kannada Sahitya Parishat President Pradeep Kumar Kalkura, MP Nalin Kumar Kateel, MLA Dr Bharath Shetty, MLA Vedavyas Kamath, Meenakshi Shanthigodu, president, D K Zilla Panchayat; were among other representatives and governmental officials that graced the celebration. Various Cultural activities exhibited by school children followed the formal celebration.

Ending this report with “Jaya Bharata Jananiya Tanujate” state anthem lyrics on YouTube:

Click here to View More Photos यांनी वर पोस्ट केले बुधवार, ३१ ऑक्टोबर, २०१८ यांनी वर पोस्ट केले बुधवार, ३१ ऑक्टोबर, २०१८