IAAF re-elects Ugandan to cross-country committee

Kampala, Aug 20 (IANS) Uganda’s Beatrice Ayikoru has been re-elected to the cross- country committee of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), a media report said on Thursday.

“I am very happy that IAAF members have trust in me and re-elected me on Wednesday in my absence,” Ayikoru told Xinhua.

The former national long distance runner who is now secretary of the Uganda Athletics Federation will serve from 2015-2019 on the 11-member committee.

During the elections that took place in Beijing on Wednesday with 207 member federations casting their votes, two-time Olympic 1,500m champion Seb Coe was elected president. He beat Ukranian Sergey Bubka by 115 votes to 92.

While Ayikoru was voted in, Kenya’s Isaiah Kiplagat, who was seeking one of the four IAAF Vice president posts, lost his bid and also the Council seat where he had served as member since 1999.

The elections took place ahead of the World Championships which start on Saturday with the marathon. World champion and Olympic marathon gold medalist Stephen Kiprotich will lead Uganda’s 11-athlete team.

Uganda’s team includes Stephen Kiprotich, Juliet Chekwel, Phillip Kipyeko, Jackson Kiprop, Ronald Musagala, Solomon Mutai, Moses Kibet, Joshua Cheptegei, Timothy Toroitich, Abraham Kiplimo and Benjamin Kiplagat.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here