Manipal: Stany wins Dr TMA Pai Chess title

Manipal: International Master Stany GA of Shivamogga remained unbeaten to win the Dr TMA Pai Memorial FIDE Rated Chess tournament at the Dr TMA Pai Hall, Manipal here on Wednesday. He remained unbeaten but in the final round was held to a draw by Muthaiah AI of Tamil Nadu who finished runner-up. Stany with eight and half points won a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and Muthaiah with seven and half got a cheque for Rs 30,000.

30-Chess stany 30-Chess Stany-1 Stany receiving the trophy from Vice Chancellor, Manipal University, Dr h Vinod Bhat

Balkishan A, IM Girinath PDS, Gahan MG, Aravind Shastry,FM Rajdeep Sarkar, Vivek Nambiar, Vijay Keerthi K score 7.5 each and based on better tie break, Balkisha A became 2nd runner up.

Soundarya Kumar Pradhan with eight points won the National B Chess for the visually impaired and KishanGangolli of Karnataka with seven and half points finished second. They won cash prize of 15,000 and Rs 8,000 respectively.


Others with six and half points were: Makhwana Ashwin of Gujarat, DarpanInani Gujarat, Yudhajeep DE of West Bengal, Aryan Joshi of Maharashtra, Ventak Reddy of AP, Prachurya Pradhan of Odhisha, Krishna Udupa of Karnataka,Wagmare Sachin Lahu of Maharashtra, Samant Milind of Maharashtra and Marimuthu of Tamil Nadu. Chief guest Dr Narayana Sabhahit distributed the prizes to the winners. Dr H Vinod Bhat, Vice Chancellor, Manipal University presided over the closing function.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here