Seniors rested for Zimbabwe tour, Rahane to lead

New Delhi, June 29 (IANS) India on Monday appointed batsman Ajinkya Rahane as their skipper for the 15-member side to tour Zimbabwe for the three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and two Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) and rested as skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and seniors like Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee headed by Sandip Patil met here and decided to rest opening batsmen Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and pacer Umesh Yadav for the tour starting with an ODI on July 10.

The BCCI said that team manager Ravi Shastri has opted out of the tour “due to prior engagement”.

India squad for Zimbabwe tour: Ajinkya Rahane (capt), M. Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Harbhajan Singh, Axar Patel, Karn Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here