17-member India U-19 football squad for Asia Champions Trophy selected

Spread the love

New Delhi, Aug 17 (IANS) A 17-member Indian U-19 squad has been chosen to participate in the 2015 Asia Champions Trophy, the All India Football Federation (AIFF) confirmed on Monday.

The championship kicked-off on August 5 and the Indian colts have been clubbed in Group A alongside Frenz United A, Felda United FC (both Malaysia) and Chonburi FC (Thailand).

The teams in the group will play on a home and away basis and top two finishing teams from the group stage will progress into the knock-out Stages.

The Indian contingent will clash swords against Felda United FC in their first game, which has been scheduled for August 19 at the Hand Tuah Stadium, Malaysia.

Expressing his content with the exposure that the Asia Champions Trophy will provide, head coach of the Indian U-19 team Lee Johnson said: “It is important for any player to play games in a competitive environment, as a competitive environment is an integral part of any player’s development.”

“These competitions provide the experience needed in order to develop as a player,” he said.

The squad :

Sukhdev Patil, Haokip Jedidi, Nishu Kumar, Amey Ranawade, Kapil Boro, Mohd. Sajid Dhot, Lalthakima, Nuruddin, Suman Sarkar, Malsawmzuala, Bidyananda Singh, Vinit Rai, Loken Moirangthem, Milan Basumatary, Ashique Kuruniyan, Lalrinzuala Chhangte, Mawihmingthanga

Head Coach: Lee Johnson

Spread the love