Abu Dhabi: Konkans Dubai Bag Prestigious KSSSM Silver Jubilee Throwball trophy in thriller

Spread the love

Abu Dhabi: Konkans Dubai Men team managed to beat Bunts Dubai in an electrifying thriller to lift the most prestigious Koosamma Shambu Shetty Memorial Throwball Silver Jubilee Trophy while in Ladies match, team Bunts Dubai beat Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha in a thriller and bagged the KSSSM Silver Jubilee Trophy.

This year being the 25th year of this most prestigious tournament, there were two special sports added which attracted loads of fun and joy to the tournament i.e. 4 x 100 Mtr Relay and Tug-of-war for all the Men and Ladies teams at the end of the day.




The most memorable KSSSM tournament held in memory of Late Koosamma Shambu Shetty, Mother of Padmashree Dr B R Shetty began with a warm welcome accorded by Sarvotham Shetty (President, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha and main convener of the prestigious tournament) on Friday 30th Jan 2015 at 9:00 am at Abu Dhabi Indian School grounds.

Sarvotham Shetty invited all the dignitaries present to the dais, namely: Dr B R Shetty, Dr Chandrakumari B R Shetty, N C Vijaychandra (Principal ADDS), V K Mathu (Advisor ADIS), Ronald Colaco (Entrepreneur), Sudhir Kumar Shetty (President/COO Global UAE Exchange), Dolphy Vaz, K K Hegde, Ronald Pinto (HYSNA), Michael D’Silva, Shekar Shetty (ARAB UDUPI), Sunder Shetty (Nihal Restaurant), Binoy Shetty (NMC Group), Nirmal Shetty, Clement D’Souza (ADIS), RavindraNath and Thomas Vargese (ISC).

Sarvotham Shetty accorded a grand welcome to them all and explained briefly how the tournament began in 1989 with the first matches held at the same ground between two teams i.e. Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha and Bunts Dubai. He also briefed on motherly love, affection which he compared to Dr Shetty’s mother who was very generous and kind and who advised Dr B R Shetty to do charity work and succeed and today if Dr B R Shetty has reached the top of the ladder and helped numerous people, communities it is because of Late Koosamma Shambu Shetty’s blessings and advise that Dr B R Shetty has followed and kept his word to his mother to help others.

He then invited all the players who had played the first matches in 1989 and requested Dr B R Shetty to honour them namely: Dr (Mrs) Chandrakumari B R Shetty (First Captain), Usha Sarvotham Shetty, Bharati Karunakara Hegde, Jyoti Ashok Kumar Shetty, Dr Rajkumari K J Melanta, Prithika C R Shetty, Yashoda Santhosh Bhandari, Asha Naik, Usha B G Hegde, Pratima Jayaveer Rai, Sunila Devi Prasad Shetty, Dr Aruna Krupa, Sharila B N Bandari, Rajeshwari Jayant Kumar Shetty,  Urmila Pradeep Rai, and Shalini Mohan Shetty. They were honoured with a shawl and memento on the special occasion.

Two players each from current teams who have worked hard for building the team and for their success were honoured namely:  Seema Vasu Shetty and Shashi Shetty (Bunts Dubai), Sheela Sudhir kumar Shetty and Divya Prabhu (Abu Dhabi Karnakata Sangha), Placy Mendonca and Suzie Fernandes (KCO), Irene Quadras and Nancy Quadras (Mangalore Konkans), Marina Menezes and Vineetha Sigfred D’Souza (Dubai Konkans), Shashidar Kotian and Nalini Deepak (Mogaveers). The first referee of the match who is still referee for the current matches i.e. Jaypala Raj was also felicitated.

The star of the day Sarvotham Shetty who was instrumental in organizing the first tournament back in 1989 and consecutively organizing all the 25 tournaments successfully was honoured by Dr B R Shetty who was was all praise for his dedication and unending selfless service in organizing these tournaments every year. He was honoured with a traditional shawl and special memento of the Silver Jubilee Celebrations. Sarvotham Shetty thanked Dr B R Shetty and Karnataka Sangha for their kind gesture and recognition.

Dr B R Shetty spoke on the occasion and thanked all the teams past and present for their full participation and said his mother’s blessings has worked on him and on these tournaments which are successfully held every year. Ronald Colaco also spoke on the occasion and thanked B R Shetty and Sarvotham Shetty for their kind invitation.

The grand inauguration of 25th Silver Jubilee of Koosamma Shambu Shetty Memorial Throwball Tournament began with the cutting of the cake by all the dignitaries on the dais and then proceeded with league matches.

The teams participated in the tournaments are:

Gents Throwball teams:

Bunts Dubai, KCO Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha, Mogaveers Dubai, Konkans Dubai, Mangalore Konkans, Canara Catholics Fujairah and Pacific Stars Sharjah.

Ladies Throwball teams:

Bunts Dubai, KCO Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha, Mogaveers Dubai, Konkans Dubai, Mangalore Konkans, Pacific Stars Sharjah and Abu Dhabi Indian School.

In the league matches, Gents teams; Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha, Bunts Dubai, Mogaveers and Konkans Dubai comfortably reached the Semi-Finals while in the Ladies teams: Mogaveers, Bunts Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Mangalore Konkans reached semi-finals.

On conclusion of semi-finals, Bunts Dubai and Konkans Dubai reached the finals (Men) and in Ladies Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha and Bunts Dubai reached the finals.

However, it was great joy to watch two wonderful nail biting electrifying finals Gents matches Bunts Dubai Vs  Konkans Dubai. In the first set Bunts Dubai managed to overcome Konkans Dubai beating them by 15-11. However in the following two sets Konkans Dubai fought back and fought neck to neck for each point and finally managed to beat Bunts Dubai in a thriller by 15-10, 16-10 and bagged the coveted most memorable KSSSM Silver Jubilee Trophy.

In the women’s final matches Bunts Dubai beat Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha in straight sets 15-06, 15-12 and won the prestigious women’s KSSSM Silver Jubilee Trophy.

The special commentator of the day Vinod Shetty added thrill and glamour to the matches with his wonderful and humorous commentary.

There were also fun games which added glamour to the silver jubilee celebrations. All the young and old enjoyed the wonderful 4 x 100 mtr relay and Tug-of-War by the team members.

In the relay two heats were held for the teams of men and women. It was thrill to watch the relay heats at the state-of-the art tracks of Abu Dhabi Indian School and all teams ran neck to neck. However, in the finals, Gents Teams: Mogaveers (1st), Pacific Stars (2nd) and Bunts Dubai (3rd) were the winners and in the Ladies Konkans Dubai (1st) Mangalore Konkans(2nd) and Bunts Dubai were (3rd).

The most thrilling and eagerly waiting sport of the day was Tug-of-war. It was indeed fun to watch the strength of each team in pulling the ropes and the exciting finish.

In the fun-filled sport, Gents: finals Karnataka Sangha and Mogaveers (stood Fist and second) and in Ladies KCO and Canara Catholics Fujairah stood first and second respectively.

In the concluding and prize distribution ceremony, all the winners and runners were given away prizes. Also recognized on the occasion were all the referees of the day namely; Melwin D’Souza, Jayapala Raj, Dey, Cynthia D’Cunha and Satish Shetty. Also honoured on the occasion were the medical team of the day.

Dr B R Shetty thanked each and every one for their whole hearted participation in the games and for making it a most memorable silver jubilee celebration. He also thanked Sarvotham Shetty and Abu Dhabi Karnataka Sangha for successfully organizing the wonderful 25th anniversary of Koosamma Shambu Shetty Memorial Throwball Tournament and prayed for the blessings of his late mother on each and every one.

Click here for Photo Album

Spread the love