Asian athletics meet medal winners to receive cash awards

Spread the love

New Delhi, June 8 (IANS) Indian medal winners at the 21st Asian Athletics Championship held in Wuhan, China, between June 3-7, will receive cash awards from the sports ministry for their achievements.

The 59-member Indian team finished third overall with four golds, five silvers and four bronzes.

Lalita Babar (3000m steeplechase, qualification for 2016 Olympics), Tintu Lukka (800m), Vikas Gowda (discus throw) and Inderjit Singh (shotput), all gold medal winners, will get Rs.7.5 lakh each, the sports ministry said in a release on Monday.

The silver medal winners will get Rs.5 lakh each. They include M.R. Poovamma (400m), G. Lakshamanan (10,000m), Liksy Joseph (heptathlon), Jinson Johnson (800m), Dharamvir Singh (200m), Debashree Majumdar, Tintu Lukka, Jisna Mathew, M.R. Poowamma (4x400m relay women).

Lakshamanan (5,000m), Purnima (heptathlon), Sarbani Nanda (200m) earned bronze medals for which they will get Rs.2.5 lakh each.


Spread the love