Beena Shetty Installed as President of Winners Club Toastmasters

Beena Shetty Installed as President of Winners Club Toastmasters

 Mangaluru : The new team of Office Bearers of Winners Club Toastmasters for the year 2019-2020 led by President Beena Shetty was installed at a glittering function held on Sunday 07 June 2019 at The Gateway Hotel, Mangaluru. Dr GG Laxman Prabhu, Professor and HOD, Urology, KMC Mangaluru was the chief guest of the occasion.

“Communication needs to be nuanced so as to foster human relations between people to establish a productive and peaceful society,” the chief guest Dr GG Laxman Prabhu emphasized, while providing instances from his experiences as a surgeon.

In his address to the gathering, the chief guest stressed on the need to be accepting of different ways of communication. “We are quick to take offence these days, whereas the need is to see how we can get along with people.” he pointed out. Quoting the Upanishads he reminded the listeners how our scriptures tutored us to convey even bad news with consideration to the listener.

Toastmasters Area 2 Director Dr Oliver D’Souza administered the oath of office to the new team of office bearers for 2019-2020, led by the President Beena Shetty. The team includes Geeta Pereira (Vice-President – Education), Sony Rodrigues (Vice-President –Membership), Bharathi Shevgoor (Vice President – Public Relations), Sweetha Shetty (Secretary), Joan Mascarenhas (Treasurer) and Matharani Mathais (Sergeant-at-Arms)

Phyllis Maria D’costa, Lyra Pinto and Florida Almeida rendered the invocation. Matharani Mathias welcomed the gathering and Geeta Pereira and Sony Rodrigues presented the annual report in the form of a Power Point presentation highlighting the achievements done by the club during the past year. Bharathi Shevgoor introduced the chief guest.

Flexon Fernandes presented an innovative concept of passing on the baton from the old team to the new, keeping in mind the theme of indigenous languages, on which the programme was based. Malini Hebbar introduced Beena Shetty to the audience.

Outgoing President Manisha Daithota thanked her team and club members for their cooperation during her tenure. In her acceptance speech Beena Shetty expressed her vision and goals to be achieved by the club during her term. Since indigenous languages was the theme of the installation ceremony, the office bearers and some of the presenters
had dressed up in costumes of the states which speak different indigenous languages.

District Administration Manager Savitha Salian, Division F Director Shivani Baliga, Area F4 Director Vidya Shenoy, Kavitha Kamath (Mangalore Toastmasters), Rajat R (Infosys Toastmasters Mangalore SEZ), Dr Reshma Karkera (Inspiron Toastmasters) and Dr Ashrita Shetty (ProAct Toastmasters) and M. N. Pai felicitated the new officer bearers. VK Shetty , spouse of the newly sworn-in President too felicitated the team. A beautiful painting by artist Vishnudas Kamath Shevgoor was presented to the chief guest as a memento.

Sweetha Shetty proposed the vote of thanks. Roshan Madtha, Reena Monteiro, Praveen Pinto and Deborah Lobo were the Masters of Ceremonies.