Bhatkal beat Wels Prince XI Manipal to clinch MPL

Spread the love

Istihaque, Vikrant, Neville shine as Unique Striker Bhatkal beat Wels prince XI Manipal to clinch MPL

Ajman: Unique Striker Bhatkal emerged victorious beating Wels Prince XI Manipal with a comprehensive 39-run win on Thursday 14th April in the finals of the first edition of Globelink West Star Shipping LLC Mangaluru Premier League (MPL) at the Ajman Oval ground Stadium, UAE.

Unique Strikers, Bhatkal skipper Vikrant Shetty won the toss and elected to Bat first on perfect batting conditions. Unique Striker Bhatkal relied on brilliant innings by opener Ishtiaq Hussain (62, 50 b, 6X4) and Ubadah Barmawar (23) to post a fighting 152/7 in the allotted 20 overs. A disciplined bowling from Rizwan (4-16-1), Mohammad Shafi (4-22-0) and Mohammad Harris (4-42-2) pegged the Strikers from running away to a big total.

image011Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--011 image012Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--012

image001Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--001 image002Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--002 image003Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--003 image004Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--004

Chasing the challenging target set by Unique Strikers, Prince XI started steadily through the 61 runs second wicket partnership between Abhishek KBhatkal beat Wels Prince XI Manipal to clinch MPLanchan (52 in 51 balls) and Farhan Beary (18 in 21 balls). A strategic move by Unique Strikers to get back their strike bowler Nelson Pinto yielded results immediately as he broke the partnership by getting the wicket for Farhan Beary. Jayesh Suvarna (11 in 16 balls) continued to support Abhishek and the duo put 33 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket however the deadly spell from captain Vikrant Shetty (3.2-13-4) and Neville Pereira 1-19-4) triggered a mini collapse as Prince XI wound up for 113 in 18.2 overs giving Unique Strikers Bhatkal a well-deserved victory for their all-round performance. Neville Pereira was awarded the Man of the Finals for his all-round performance.

image005Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--005 image006Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--006 image007Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--007 image008Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--008 image009Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--009 image010Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--010

Vikrant Shetty and UAE international and World Cup T20 member of UAE team bagged the Man of the Series for his all-round performance. He commented that it was a sweet revenge on Prince XI who got the better of Unique Strikers in the league stages. He dedicated this victory and his award to the team. Having failed with the bat in the finals, the team delivered with their all-round performance with the bat, bowling, and Fielding. Oswin Savio Robert Crasta of Al Sitara Gulf Karkala and Safwan Shanu of ANIB XI on Top Mysore Royals were awarded the Best Bowler and Best Batsman Respectively.

image013Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--013 image014Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--014 image015Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--015 image016Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--016 image017Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--017 image018Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--018 image019Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--019 image020Bhatkal-Wels Prince-mpl-20160417.--020

Abdul Sattar and Taha, owners of Unique Striker’s Bhatkal were ecstatic following the twin victories in Bhatkal Premier League and Mangaluru Premier League. They dedicated the victory to the awesome team and team management in Raj Anand (Manager), Prashanth Braggs (Icon Player) and Masood Mohammad (Technical Manager). In the true spirit of sportsmanship, both the teams danced the tune of DJ Bravo’s Champions song to conclude the prize distributions. Sumptuous food was served by the tournament organizers to all who were present on the finals to draw curtains to the month-long event successful event.

Prize distribution ceremony was conducted in the presence of MPL management (Waseem KM, Akshay Kadalilae & Fatima Pinto) and all team owners. The Prizes given were as follows.

Winners: Unique Striker Bhatkal
Runners: Wels Prince XI Manipal
Man of the Series: Vikrant Shetty of Unique Strikers, Bhatkal
Best Bowler: Oswin Savio Robert Crasto of Al Sitara Gulf, Karkala
Best Batsman: Safwan Shanu of ANIB XI on Top Mysore Royals
Man of Finals: Neville Pereira of Unique Strikers, Bhatkal.

Final Scores:

Unique Strikers Bhatkal: 152 for 7 in 20 overs
Ishtiaq Hussain (62 in 50 balls), Ubada Baramwar (23 in 25 balls), Prashanth Braggs (20 in 20 balls), Santosh Kotian (19 in 11 balls). Mohd Harris (4-0-42-2), Avinash Rao (4-0-22-1), Rizwan Ahamed (4-0-16-1)
Wels Prince XI Manipal: 113 All Out in 18.2 overs.
Abhishek Kanchan (52 in 51 balls), Farhan Beary (18 in 21 balls), Jayesh Suvarna (11 in 16 balls). Nelson Pinto (3-0-19-1), Ubadha Baramwar (3-0-24-1), Vikrant Shetty (3.2-0-13-4), Neville Pereira (4-0-19-4)

Raffle draws were conducted for the large crowd who stood back to witness the finals. The winners are.

Food Processor: Shahnaz Altaf Hussain Musba
Mixer: Syed Afzan Hussain
MB Cricket Bat: Altaf Hussain Pathan
MB Cricket Bat: Farhan Beary.

Spread the love