Confident Mumbai face Super Kings challenge in IPL 

Spread the love

Chennai, May 7 (IANS) Following four consecutive wins, a confident Mumbai Indians will look to extend their winning streak and enter the top four when they take on table-toppers Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the return leg of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium here on Friday.

Mumbai are currently fifth in the standings with 10 points from 10 games, having won five and lost five, whereas CSK, with a superb run, are placed at the summit with 14 points from 10 games, winning seven and losing three. A win on Friday will seal their place in the playoffs.

In the previous meeting on April 17, the Chennai-based team came out victorious, beating home team Mumbai by six wickets. Batting first, Mumbai posted a challenging 183/7 in 20 overs but a superb batting display by the visitors helped them chase down the target with 20 balls remaining.

But Friday will be a new day for the Mumbai Indians as they will look to hold on to their winning momentum after a sluggish start to the season.

In their last match against the Delhi Daredevils on Tuesday, Mumbai were spot on in both their batting and bowling, beating Daredevils by five wickets.

After Mumbai bowlers restricted Delhi to 152, skipper Rohit Sharma and Ambati Rayudu displayed brilliant batting skills in a rain-affected tie to steer the team to a comfortable win.

On the other hand, CSK outplayed Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 24 runs in their last encounter on Monday. Suresh Raina struck a half-century to help his team to 148 while some tough bowling by CSK bowlers helped the team clinch a victory.

However, pacer Lasith Malinga will be missed on Friday as Sri Lankan cricketers are not allowed to play in Chennai. Other pacer Mitchell McClenaghan, who produced some match-winning spells for Mumbai in the past few matches, will look to deliver in Malinga’s absence.

The squads:

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Colin Munro, Aditya Tare, Jasprit Bumrah, Marchant de Lange, Pawan Suyal, Shreyas Gopal, Lendl Simmons, Pragyan Ojha, Mitchell McClenaghan, Abhimanyu Mithun, Aiden Blizzard, Akshay Wakhare, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Hardik Pandya, Jagadeesha Suchith, Unmukt Chand, Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Ben Hilfenhaus.

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Baba Aparajith, Ishwar Pandey, Mithun Minhas, Pawan Negi, Ronit More, Rahul Sharma, Ankush Bains, Irfan Pathan, Pratyush Singh, Ekalavya Dwivedi, Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Francois du Plessis, Michael Hussey, Matt Henry, Samuel Badree, Kyle Abbott, Andrew Tye.

Spread the love