Dr Ronald Fernandes Recipient of K’taka Media Academy Award

Spread the love

Dr Ronald Fernandes Recipient of K’taka Media Academy Award

Deccan Herald Mangaluru Bureau Head Dr Ronald Fernandes Recipient of Karnataka Media Academy Award

Mangaluru: Fifteen journalists including Deccan Herald Mangaluru Bureau Head Dr Ronald Anil Fernandes have been selected for the Karnataka Media Academy awards for the year 2016. Announcing the same in Bengaluru, Karnataka Media Academy Chairperson M Siddaraju said that the 15 journalists were selected for the coveted honour for their contribution in the field of journism.

The awards comprising Rs 20,000 and a plaque, will be presented during the Academy’s annual programme either in Mysuru or Gadag by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah among other dignitaries.

The other journalists selected for the award are:

1.H R Sreesha, Senior journalist – Bengaluru
2.Shantala Dharmaraj, Samyuktha Karnataka – Mysuru
3.G Veeranna, Vijayavani – Ballari
4.Siddiqui Aldoori, Senior Journalist – Chikkamagaluru
5Cheeni Purushotham, Udayavani – Tumkur
6.A C Prabhakr, Mysure Mitra – Chamarajanagar
7.Ujjini Rudrappa, Kannada Prabha – Koppal
8.Hemanthkumar, Indian Express – Bengaluru
9.Ramaswamy – Ee Sanje – Ramanagar
10.Shankerappa Husanappa Chalavadi, Hucha Patrike – Bagalkote
11.Nagaraja Sunagara, Udaya TV – Dharwad
12.Anil Kumar Hosamani, Bahujananayaka, Vijayapura
13.Malathesha Angoora, Kaurava Patrike – Haveri
14.K H Chandru, photographer – Mysuru

In addition, the other awards announced include:

‘Andolana’ award, for ‘Shivamogga Times’ (given to the best district newspaper)

‘Abhimani’ award for Chandrashekar More from Udayavani for his work titled ‘Sankastadalli Kaujalagi Ningamma Parijatha Company’ (best writing on ‘social issues’)

‘Mysuru Diganta’ award for C G Rajiv from Vijaya Karnataka for his work titled ‘Enne Nammooranne Nasha Madtha ide’ (‘humanitarian issues’)

‘Aragini’ Award, for Snehapriya Nagaraj (best cinema journalism)

Dr B R Ambedkar Mookanayaka award, for Dr Nataraj Huliar (for his writing on downtrodden-community)

These awards carry a cash prize of Rs 10,000 each.

About Dr Ronald Anil Fernandes:

After completing BSc from St Aloysius College, Fernandes persued his post graduation in Mass Communication and Journalism from Mangalore university. He did his PhD in Journalism on “Children as determinants of TV programmes: A case study in Dakshina Kannada district.”

After teaching Journalism at St Aloysius College for a year, he worked for Udaya TV as a Reporter in Chennai for six months before joining Deccan Herald in Bangalore in 1997. He was transferred to Mangalore when Deccan Herald started its Mangaluru edition in 2004. Since then, he is heading the Mangalore bureau which covers Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Kodagu, Chikkamagaluru and Kasargod districts.

In the 20 years of his career in journalism, he has won two national awards – Sarojini Naidu national award in 2009 for best report on Women and Panchayat Raj and Fr Luis Carrenho Award in 2011 instituted by Indian Catholic Press Association, New Delhi. He is also the recipient of DK Rajyotsa Award.

The former chairperson of Indian Red Cross Society Blood Bank and former vice chairperson of Indian Red Cross Society (DK dist), he is presently the President of Mangaluru Press Club and Treasurer of Prison Ministry India. Fernandes is also a Board of Studies Member of Journalism Department at St Aloysius College, Manipal University and Nitte University.

Team Mangalorean congratulates “Ronnie” on his achievement, and wish him all success in his future endeavours.

Spread the love

1 Comment

Comments are closed.