Eugenson Lyngdoh named AIFF player of the year

Spread the love

Margao, Dec 20 (IANS) India international midfielder Eugenson Lyngdoh has been voted “Player of the Year” for 2015 by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) on Sunday.

The announcement was made by AIFF president Praful Patel at its annual general body meeting here on Sunday.

Lyngdoh was chosen the winner on basis of votes from I-League coaches. The 29-year-old will receive a sum of Rs.2 lakh for his efforts.

He plays for Bengaluru FC in the I-league and FC Pune City in the India Super League. He has represented the country eight times so far.

A happy Lyngdoh said he was “honoured” to be chosen as the best player.

“The fact that I was voted by the I-League Coaches makes it all the more special for me. This is just a motivation to do better,” the Meghalayan was quoted as saying by AIFF’s website on Sunday.

Manipuri striker Bala Devi was declared woman “Footballer of the Year”. The 25-year old wil get a sum of Rs.1 lakh. She won the award last year too.

“I thank the AIFF for their constant support and help. I revere the Awards lauded to me by the AIFF a lot and these are the things which matter the most to you as a Player,” she told

Defender Pritam Kotal was declared the “Emerging Player of the Year”.

The introductory “Emerging Woman Footballer of the Year’ was give to striker Pyari Xaxa.

The Football Association of Odisha (FAO) bagged the “AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Prorgamme”.

The 2015 AIFF Award for long time contribution to Indian Football was awarded to Coca Cola.

C.R. Srikrishna won the “AIFF Award for Best Referee” while the “AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee” was awarded to Sapam Kennedy.

Spread the love