India A seek first win in tri-series 

Spread the love

Chennai, Aug 8 (IANS) After being outplayed by Australia A in their respective matches, both India A and South Africa A will look to register a much-needed win when they face-off in a 50-over tri-series match at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium here on Sunday.

Australia A drubbed India A by 119 runs on Friday, thanks to centurions Joe Burns (154) and Usman Khawaja (100).

Earlier on Wednesday, a superlative all-round performance from Australia A helped their side to a nine-wicket victory over South Africa A.

After the conclusion of tri-series, South Africa A will play a couple of unofficial Test matches against India A.

The South African senior team for four Tests and five One-Day International (ODI) series against India starting late September will be announced soon and the selectors might view this series as a trial for some of the fringe players.

But the visiting players are yet to impress the selectors both with bat and ball, following their loss against Australia A.

Despite failing with the bat in the opener, skipper Dean Elgar will again be the key batsman as far as South Africa A are concerned. In the bowling department, Marchant de Lange, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, David Wiese make a healthy pace bowling line-up.

Whereas India A bowlers after being hammered by Australia A batsmen will have to come back strongly on Sunday.

Medium pacers Sandeep Sharma and Dhawal Kulkarni backed up by spinning trio of Axar Patel, Parvez Rasool and leg-break bowler Karn Sharma will have to make the most use of the pitch to restrict the opposition.

It will be test of character for the Rahul Dravid-coached India A side. However, the talented young players in the squad are willing to prove their credentials.

With captain Unmukt Chand, Manish Pandey and Sanju Samson in the batting line-up, India A are expected to bat aggressively upfront.

India A squad: Unmukt Chand (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Kedar Jadhav, Sanju Samson, Axar Patel, Parveez Rasool, Karn Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sandeep Sharma, Rush Kalaria, Mandeep Singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rishi Dhawan.

South Africa A squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Cody Chetty, Theunis de Bruyn, Marchant de Lange, Cameron Delport, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Eddie Leie, Keshav Maharaj, Omphile Ramela, Mthokozisi Shezi, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Dane Vilas, David Wiese, Khaya Zondo.

Spread the love