Indian names team for World Junior Squash

Spread the love

Chennai, July 21 (IANS) India will be fielding a team of 11 players, including six girls, in the World Junior Squash Championship to be held at Eindhoven in the Netherlands from August 26 to September 4, according to a Squash Rackets Federation of India release on Tuesday.

The team comprises Adya Advani, Harshit Kaur Jawanda, Akanksha Salunkhe, Nikita Joshi (team and individual), Sunayna Kuruvilla, Jui Kalgutkar, Velavan Senthilkumar, Adhitya Raghavan, Sandeep Ramachandran, Vikas Mehra and Aishwarya Singh (all individual only).

The team will be accompanied by national coach Cyrus Poncha besides officials Bala Murugan and Surbhi Mishra.

India’s best show in this championship was in 2009 in Chennai when the team consisting of Anwesha Reddy, Anaka Alankamony, Dipika Pallikal and Surbhi Mishra finished third. At the last championship, two years ago, the Indian girls had finished seventh overall.

Spread the love