KCWA holds Cricket Cup 2019

Spread the love

KCWA holds Cricket Cup 2019

Kuwait: Kuwait Canara Welfare Association (KCWA) held Cricket Cup 2019 on Friday, 1st & 8th of Marchconsecutively at Trinity, RCC, Casuals, and Agilitygrounds, Sulaibiya. The tournament was held for Men’s (Regular &Veterans) and for the first time Women’s 30 Yards Under Arm tournament. 11 Teams for (regulars), 3 Teams (veterans) and 5 Teams (women’s) participated in the tournament, which was held exclusively for KCWA members. Over 266 members took part in the event. Special thanks to Oswald, Mukkaram, Hussain and Dinesh for lending theirgrounds for the tournament.

All together 22 matches were played. In the final match held for regulars, MFC-B team defeated Salmiya Friends-A team by 45 runs to lift the coveted trophy. KICC won the Veterans Trophy while Sharq United team was the Runners up. In the women’s final match Desert Roses defeated Lourdes by 21 runs to lift the winner’s trophy. The 3rd position was bagged by SWAK.

The tournament began by invoking Lord’s blessings led by Maria Rinna Dsouza & Walter Santhmayor. President Hilary Stevan Rego welcomed the teams and guests and declared the tournament open. Surinder Rana, Chandan Shukla and Samuel were the umpires. Leg Umpiring was supported by Alex Rego, Neville D’souza, Ignatius Dsouza, Deepak Andrade, Anil Fernandes, Alban Dsouza, Lloyd Prashant, Vincent Dsilva, Joyston Dsouza and Orson Dsouza. Jinella Rodrigues, Walter Santhmayor, Prakash Pinto, Deepak Andrade, Orson D’souza, Lloyd D’Souza, Harry Fernandes and Anil D’Mello were the scorers of the tournament. Online Live Scoring updates were done from the venue by Allan D’Souza, Alen Pinto, Shannu D’Souza and Arun Jossy D’Souza.

Best Bowler(regulars): Joyel Rodrigues (MFC-B)6 wickets
Best Batsman(regulars): Errel Jason D’souza (MFC-B)134 runs
Man of the Match (regulars): Errel Jason D’souza (MFC-B)42 runs from 12 balls.
Women of the Match: Precilla D’souza (Desert Roses) 25runs from 10balls& 1 wicket.
Man of the Match (veterans): Noel Lewis (KICC)20runs from 10balls.

Dr Manohar Prabhu handled the presentation ceremony. Sports secretary Hywel Pinto thanked all who helped in organizing the tournament. Anil Fernandes recited the concluding prayer. Sunitha D’Silva handled the membership counter at the venue and provided sound as well for the event. Upcoming Talented commentator Varun Dsouza was accompanied by Deepak Andrade, Naveen Mascarenhas & Dr Manohar Prabhu for live commentary in (Hindi, Konkani, Kannada & English). Banner for presentation ceremony was designed and printed by Arun Jossy D’Souza. Alban D’Souza & Alwyn Noronha captured the event through their skills in photography. Alwyn Noronha provided excellent logistical support throughout the event. The dynamic media team headed by Allan D’souza supported the entire tournament with special Live moments to be cherished on Facebook Live. KCWA Sports Committee coordinated the tournament with the support of KCWA Managing Committee members.

Pics by: Alban D’Souza& Alwyn Noronha

Click Here for Photo Album

Spread the love