Kudla’s Ashwin Naik Wins ’18th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya’ Title

Spread the love

Kudla’s Ashwin Naik Wins ’18th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya’ Title

Kudla’s Ashwin Naik along with Suresh Rana bring home the 18th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya title

Mangaluru: Speaking to Team Mangalorean over the phone from Manali, Himachal Pradesh, Mangalorean Ashwin Naik overwhelmed on the great win in the 18th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya gave the following details.


The much awaited 18thMaruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya concluded in Manali, with Suresh Rana and his co-driver Ashwin Naik, clinching their 10th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya winner title. Suresh Rana was driving Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara and clocked a total of 03:42:02 Hrs. Chasing the lead at the second position were TseringLhakpa and Venu Ramesh Kumar in Polaris RZR 1000, clocking 03:49:15 Hrs, third position was bagged by Sandeep Sharma and Karan Arya at 03:51:11 Hrs in Maruti Suzuki Gypsy.

image001ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-001 image002ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-002

The gruelling Xtreme route traversed approximately 800Kms through some of the toughest terrains like Kaza, Spiti, Jispa and Sarchu. The treacherous terrains brought out the best synchronized relation between man and machine. In the adventure category, Jagmeet Gill and Chandan Sen took the lead driving Maruti Suzuki Swift. This is fourth consecutive win for Jagmeet and Chandan. Maruti Suzuki Swift is the first car to win the adventure category. Ajgar Ali & Mohd Mustafa in Maruti Suzuki VitaraBrezza and Sunder Singh &Zaman Daoud Khan in Vitara Brezza stood at second and third position respectively. The adventure category of the rally followed the scenic route of Manali, Solang Valley, Tabo and through the sub-zero temperature of Sarchu valley.

image003ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-003 image004ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-004 image005ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-005

Tanveer Abdul Wahid in his TVS RTR450 won the MotoquadXtreme followed by R Natraj in TVS RTR450 at second position and UmangSaxena at the third position driving KTM Duke 390. Speaking on the occasion, Vinay Pant, Assistant Vice President, Marketing,Maruti Suzuki said, β€œI congratulate the indomitable spirit of all the rallyists who participated and completed the 18th edition of Raid de Himalaya. We are constantly encouraged to see the increasing enthusiasm in participation every year. We should also take a moment to remember and salute the incredible life of Late Subhomoy Paul, ace rallyist from Kolkata. His memory shall forever live in our hearts and guide us in succeeding against all odds.”

Cherishing his much coveted 10th raid de Himalaya trophy, Manali Man Suresh Rana said, β€œIt feels good to hold my 10th Raid trophy. It is even special since I have brought the trophy home in my own city. Like always, Raid is all about incredible Comradery and sportsmanship. We are all winners in our own rights.” All the motorsports enthusiasts participating in Raid and from across the country, the organizers and sponsors paid a tribute to LateSubhomoy Paul, Subhomoyhad participated thrice in Raid de Himalaya and several other international motorsports challenges.

image006ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-006 image007ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-007 image008ashwin-naik-kudla-maruti-suzuki-raid-himalaya-20161017-008

About Maruti Suzuki Raid-de-Himalaya:

Maruti Suzuki Raid-de-Himalaya is one of the two off-road motor rallies from India listed in the annual motorsport calendar of Switzerland based Federation Internationale Automobile (FIA) and Federation Internationale Motorcyclisme (FIM). The Maruti Suzuki Raid De Himalaya will run in compliance with the International Sporting Code of the FIA, National Competition Rules (NCR) & General Prescriptions of the FMSCI. The rally is organized with the aim of conducting motor sporting events in the Himalayan regions of Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Uttarakhand. Over 200 + qualified Scrutineers and Stewards who have current Scrutineer and Steward Licenses from the FMSCI will be making sure that rally sets some new standards this time.

About Maruti Suzuki and Motorsport:

Maruti Suzuki has been actively promoting motorsports in the country for over 15 years now. To popularize action sport, the Maruti Suzuki motorsport calendar is packed with exciting motoring events. Be it for a motorsport enthusiast, an amateur or a professional, there are events that offer the thrill and joy of motorsport to one and all. The annual calendar of events includes Maruti Suzuki Indian National Autocross Championship, cross country rallies including Maruti Suzuki Raid-De-Himalaya, Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm and Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare and Maruti Suzuki FMSCI National Super League TSD Rally Championship. These events provide rallying thrills as well as promote safe driving habits.

Spread the love