Mangalore Bicycle Club Holds ‘Firefox Freedom Race and Rally 2016

Mangalore Bicycle Club Holds ‘Firefox Freedom Race and Rally 2016

Mangaluru: Firefox Freedom Race & Rally 2016 was a grand success which concluded at Kuloor Junction here on September 11.

Mangalore roads for the first time saw 23 cyclists racing against each other on their pedals early in the morning.

image001mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-001 image002mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-002 image003mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-003 image004mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-004 image005mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-005 image006mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-006 image007mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-007 image008mangalorecycle-freedom-20160911-008

This unique event in Mangalore was organized by Mangalore Bicycle Club in association with Firefox Bikes. The objective was to open a window of opportunities to all passionate cyclists in Mangalore to participate in a race of 25 km stretch, where the evaluation criterion was Speed. Cyclists from Mangalore, Udupi and Manipal participated in this event.

The race was flagged off by Dony Menezes, Club President at 6:15 am and pilot vehicles to ensure safety for racers were wheeled by Zahir Manipadi, Anand Prabhu and Dr Prashant Marla. Top 4 to 5 cyclists were pacing at an average speed of 30+ km per hour and clocked maximum speed of 60 km per hour during the race.

To the much-awaited suspense of the audience, Nithin Mohan emerged as the winner in 51 minutes 45 seconds and won Rs. 10,000 cash award plus one year Annual membership subscription to Zuess Fitness Club. Philip won the second place by reaching the finish line in 51 minutes and 48 seconds and won the cash award of Rs. 5000/- plus 6 months membership subscription to Zuess Fitness Club. The third winner of the race was Lakshmish, who covered 25 kms in 51 minutes 50 seconds and won the cash award of Rs. 2000/- plus 3 months subscription to Zuess Fitness Club. Arvind KY, Achinthya, Ankith Shetty and Srinidhi were the next few who crossed the finish line with a marginal difference.

100+ enthusiastic cyclists including kids participated in the rally, which was flagged off by Dr Prashant Marla, Director of AJ Hospital. The rally covered a distance of 10 kms from Kuloor to Bondel and return.

President of Mangalore Bicycle Club Dony Menezes, announced the winners at the closing ceremony and the winners of the race were felicitated by Dr Prashant Marla. A Lucky Draw was conducted for the rally participants and 3 gift vouchers worth Rs. 1000/- each was handed over to the lucky winners. 25 club t-shirts were also handed over to the rally participants. Around 250 people including race cyclists, rally riders, family and friends of cyclists, members from various cycling clubs of Mangalore and Udupi, volunteers and media friends were present.

Chetan Pilikula compered the entire event. Ganesh Nayak, General Secretary of the club delivered the vote of thanks. Committee members of the club Dr Pritham Sharma, Anand Prabhu, Dijaraj Nair, Raheem Teekay, Zahir Manipadi, Reny D’Silva and Venu Vinod were also present.

Notify of
Original R.Pai

Long distance cycling is just another day to work for our friend Praveena. From yemmekere to pilikula is a cakewalk for our saudi-returned friend!!

On a different note, congratulations to the winners of bicycle race organized by Mangaluru Bicycle club.


Long distance cycling is just another day to work for our friend Praveena. From Yemmekere to Pilikula is a cakewalk.. – Yumreeki Joker Rampe

But of course, yes, Rampa. You see, all that cycling has firmed up my Gluteus Maximus as compared to your…. By the way, I guess you must be commuting to work (what work, man?) by Magic carpet, right?