Mangaluru: District Administration all Set for Counting of Votes – Dry Day on June 5 Announced

Spread the love

Mangaluru: Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim visited the ballot counting centre at Padua Educational Institutions, Nanthur here on June 4.

Addressing the mediapersons, A B Ibrahim said that the district administration is all set for counting of votes on June 5. The counting of ballots from 55 Gram Panchayats and 335 polling stations will start from 8:00 am in 28 rooms at the Padua Educational Institutions. There will be 4 tables in each room. All the information about the candidate will be displayed at the entrance of the counting centre.

counting-dcibrahim-20150604 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-001 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-002 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-003 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-004 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-005 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-006 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-007 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-008 counting-dcibrahim-20150604-009

“We have made arrangements for the supporters to wait for their candidates and wish them near Cochin Bakery. There will be four rounds of counting. While counting the ballots, along with the candidate, his/her agent will be allowed to go inside the counting room. We have imposed section 144 for the ballot counting to go on smoothly.”

He also said that June 5 will be a dry day as all the liquor shops in the city as well as in the rural area have been ordered to be closed for 24 hours.

In the first round, votes will be counted from 113 constituencies with 838 candidates,in the second round 112 constituencies with 781 candidates, in the third round 80 constituencies with 568 candidates and from 14 constituencies with 85 candidates.

Mobiles phones and cameras will not be allowed inside the counting room. A police officer has been deployed in every room. The counting process will be recorded and the media will be informed from time to time.
If there is a tie between the candidates, lots will be drawn to decide the winner.

ADC Sadashiv Prabhu, AC Ashok, Observer Jyotindra, Khader Shah and Mohammed Hissar were also present.

Spread the love