Meenakshi new head of Udupi CMC, Sandhya Vice President

Spread the love

Pics by Prasanna Kodavoor, Team Mangalorean

Update: Addressing the mediapersons the newly elected president of CMC Meenakshi said that she will give priority to drinking water supply in the city. She will also give priority to extending the underground drainage system.

Meenakshi has completed her SSLC, she has been elected thrice as a Councillor and was once a nominated Councillor in the CMC. vice president Sandhya is a BA, LLB degree holder and is a first-time Councillor.

MLA Pramod Madhwaraj, Opposition leader Dr M R Pai, Dinakar Shetty Herga, Ex-president Yuvara, nominated member Janardhan Bhandarkar wished the new president and vice president on the occasion.

Udupi: Congress councillors, Meenakshi Madhav Bannanje (Kodavoor Ward) and Sandhya Kumari (Vadabhandeshwara ward) were unanimously elected as president and vice-president of Udupi City Municipal Corporation (CMC) on March 29.


The president’s post was reserved for a woman in the general category while the post of the vice-president was reserved for a woman in the SC category.

The Congress has the majority with 22 seats in the 35-member council and the BJP has 13 seats. The official announcement will be made by the returning officer Ashwathi Assistant commissioner of Kundapur Division at 3 pm.

29032016-cmc-president-election 29032016-cmc-president-election-001 29032016-cmc-president-election-002 29032016-cmc-president-election-003 29032016-cmc-president-election-004 29032016-cmc-president-election-005 29032016-cmc-president-election-006 29032016-cmc-president-election-007 29032016-cmc-president-election-009 29032016-cmc-president-election-010 29032016-cmc-president-election-011 29032016-cmc-president-election-012

Three major contenders in the Congress are Amrita Krishnamurthy, Meenakshi Madhav Bannanje and Shobha Poojary of Kakkunje ward. The party internal voting was held at the Congress Bhavan under the leadership of Pramod Madhwaraj MLA Udupi. During the meeting, Amritha Krishnamurthy withdrew her candidature. Voting was held between Meenakshi Madhav Bannanje and Shobha, Meenakshi got the highest votes.

Spread the love